cant boot vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2007, 06:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default cant boot vista

ok a while ago i had vista on its own partition on my slave drive, and XP on my master drive.
i used to switch my PC on and have a boot manager whree i could choose to boot vista or "earlier versions of windows" e.g XP PRO. i then formatted my XP drive and reinstalled XP, since then when ever i turn my pc on it boots straight to XP and i also see this screen which i dont knwo what it is and i have tried resetting my CMOS.
http://www.digibarn.com/collections/.../os24_boot.gif

included in this thread (the attatchment is a pic of my setup + boot.ini

ALSO i have run easy BCD and still nothing
Attached Images
File Type: jpg boot.JPG (61.2 KB, 97 views)
__________________

__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 02:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default Re: cant boot vista

This is due to you reverting back to the older NTLDR as opposed to vista's new BOOTLDR. When you reinstall XP is writes over the BOOTLDR which Vista places on each primary boot partition if I recall reading right. What you have to do is boot off the Vista CD and enter the recovery section. Then simply choose to fix the MBR and it will reloard the proper BOOTLDR and give you the choices you had before.
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 08:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: cant boot vista

EasyBCD should be able to fix this issue. I had this problem myself. You have to run the newest version EasyBCD 1.6 in order to correct this. Add the BCD and then add XP to it. XP will end up being your D: Drive since Vista when installed fresh takes the C: drive.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 04:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default Re: cant boot vista

thank god someone has replied lol thanks,
well i have heard similar to what win2k has said however makevi..'s solution seem quicker therefore i will try his first and if it fails i shall try the longer solution provided by win2k thanks guys ill post back soon with results
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 07:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default Re: cant boot vista

ok guys i tried both and still the same thing, the vista recovery said it found a problem with teh startup and that it fixed it, and so did easyBCD but still same thing
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 08:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: cant boot vista

So did you get the Vista bootloader back or not?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 08:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default Re: cant boot vista

nope, but bothe methods displayed a mesasge sayingit was fixed and that on reboot i would.. really confusing still cant boot to vista

also @ makaveli213, you seem to be all easyBCD crazy so i figure you could help.
in the pic above of the mapping of my 2 drives, if i install linux on the "vista F:" drive how can i set easyBCD to allow me to chose on power on which OS to use. also if i dont use esyBCD will i then not be able to boot to windows?

still any nwes on teh vista prob is also gratefull thanks
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 07:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: cant boot vista

Okay Snyper i will forward your issue on to CG. He is the guy who create EasyBCD and has helped me with many of my issues with dual booting.

The best thign i can suggest right now is to go to NeoSmart Technologies and sign up on his forum and ask him yourself. He might be able to help you out fast than i can with this problem.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 08:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: cant boot vista

......
__________________

networkgeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual boot xp and vista mikee Microsoft Windows and Software 7 09-25-2007 06:49 PM
Cant Boot Into Vista Anymore SpikedCola Microsoft Windows and Software 6 05-07-2007 06:47 PM
Boot up vista then crash korky122 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-14-2007 10:51 PM
Dual Boot XP and Vista jasonhtml Microsoft Windows and Software 24 04-05-2007 01:17 AM
Linux vista dual boot mikee Linux and Open Source 12 04-01-2007 08:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.