can't boot up computer!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2004, 02:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 30
Unhappy can't boot up computer!!!

My computer was working perfectly and I decided I wanted to see if I could increase the performance of my computer by changing the settings in my bios. (My MB is an ASUS P4P800 with the American Megatrends bios.) I only changed 2 settings in the bios: Performance Mode from Auto to Turbo -AND- Memory Acceleration Mode from Auto to Enabled. Then, I saved the changes and exited the bios. The computer than looked like it was going to restart but the display stayed off and nothing further happened. I could hear the fans running but my monitor was apparently not recieving any signals. I thought that I could fix the problem by erasing the RTC RAM and so I followed the MB's manual for that process but it didn't work. When I turn on the computer, I can hear the fans, the hard drive light turns on, and the cd-rom lights flash for a couple seconds, but that's all... I'm not sure what to do next. Does anyone know how to fix this problem?

purplepots is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 06:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833

have you tried taking the battery on your mobo out for a few mins to let the whole mobo bios reset itself?

hygor is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 10:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27

reseat the video card and your RAM...

i know it doesnt make sense, but i may work
odessabo is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 10:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872

U say that clearing the Cmos didn't work ... Are u sure u did it right ??

U'll find a jumper next to the CMOS ....which u can short to clear the bios ... alternatively ..u can take out the battery froma few minutes ..

Disconnect ur system from the power supply when ur doing this ...
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 02:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 30

Yup, I tried doing everything you guys suggested. Resetting didn't work, even with your instructions, but reseating the ram and video card solved it. Thank you soo much for your help!
purplepots is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.