Cant backup a DVD (Legend of Zoro) using any program!! (Decrypter, Shrink, XCopy...) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2006, 05:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Exclamation Cant backup a DVD (Legend of Zoro) using any program!! (Decrypter, Shrink, XCopy...)

Hi,
I am trying to backup a new DVD I bought (The Legend of Zoro) as I do with all my DVDs (so to preserve the original disc and use the copied one;incase it got damaged or scratched...I still have the original!)

Anyways...usually, I copy them using DVD Shrink...but sometimes, the DVD is too big that Shrink cant shrink enough so the I use DVDX Copy Platinum (the one by 321 studios...)
This DVD was about 7.8GB and Shrink couldnt shrink it...
I tried using DVDX Copy but it gave an error on 73% and could not continue...

I tried using LG's 1Click DVD Copy, it said it was copy protected and cant copy (although I had DVD Region+CSS Free running) so I installed DVD43 and it worked....(not for long though!! :<
It finished till 100% and when I checked the destination folder on my HD, it appeared that it only copied scences 25, 26 and 27!! The movie starts from scence 27 directly...and when you go to the Scene Index menu and click on scene 1 or 5 or whatever, the computer just freezes!


I tried to decrypt it using DVD Decrypter but ut also gave errors...(please check attached log) (it copied the entire 7.8gb but I only could play scenes 25, 26, and 27)

As a last resort, I tried 321 Studio's DVDX Rescue...I copied the contents of the DVD to my HD....The whole files where copied....I even checked the file size of the VIDEO_TS folder on the HD and on the DVD itself and they where identical (identical to the byte!!) so I thought that finally, it worked....
But again, I was wrong!
I opened it using PowerDVD and the same thing happened...only scenes 25, 26, and 27 played...!!!


(I also tried to use DVD Shrink's Re-authoring...I copeid the contents where it said Main Movie...and I previewed it...it only started playing from the same place (of scene 25) although it said (near Main Movie) Time: 2hrs and something...??!!!)


Does any one have a clue to what might be going wrong??????

Looking at the DVD, I couldnt see any scratches...

And where did the entire 7.8 GB go (when I copied them using DVD Rescue to my HD) if I could only play back scenes 25, 26, 27...??


Any help is much appreciated...

Thanks in advance
Rawan Abu Salman
Attached Files
File Type: txt dvddecrypter_log.txt (36.0 KB, 36 views)
__________________

__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 11:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Try using AnyDVD and CloneDVD together. AnyDVD will unlock the encryption and CloneDVD is used to back it up. AnyDVD will have to be running in the background before using CloneDVD.

You can download and use them for 30 days and then you will have to pay for the products. I've never had a problem with any DVD with these two products.
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 11:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

that cd has sonys across protection. I copied it with Nero 7 and DVD Shrink and DVD Region + CSS Free 5.9.6.5

and I've also copied it with DVD Decrypter but make sure its their newest release

Before you do all of this, turn off your autoplay. Leaving this on will cause the encryption to start automatically also. So turn it off and let the programs do their job
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 12:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

thanks for your reply...
I am downloading the latest version of DVD Region Free....

but I think I have the latest version of Decrypter (3.5.40)
When I start decrypter, it says:

I 19:41:55 DVD Decrypter Version 3.5.4.0 started!
I 19:41:55 Microsoft Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600 : Service Pack 2)
I 19:42:06 Initialising SPTI...
I 19:42:06 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
I 19:42:06 Found 1 DVD-ROM and 1 DVD±RW!
W 19:42:15 Possible Structure Protection Found!
W 19:42:15 2 areas have been marked as 'suspect'.
W 19:42:15 Dummy sectors will be inserted where necessary.


Another question, what do you mean by Turning off Autoplay?

Thankx again...
__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 12:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

right click on the cd/dvd drive, go to autopaly and set it to take no action
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 06:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

thanx for your replies....
the problem was that my Region+CSS Free was kind of an old version...I downloaded and installed a newer version and it worked like a charm! (using DVD Shrink)

Thanx again...
__________________

__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.