Can't access windows 2000 after software install... - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2005, 08:12 PM   #41 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mr. tech
Can I just uninstall the drivers when I finally get into the HD?

Because of those different drivers, is that why it wont boot?
more than likely, thats why it wont boot, im almost 100% sure
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 08:35 PM   #42 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

OK, so I'll Fdisk the HD and then do a clean install of XP right?
__________________

Mr. tech is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 08:40 PM   #43 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Thumbs up

Exactly......
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 10:44 PM   #44 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

Just thought I'd let you know Win XP is installing and it seems to be going fine... I hacked the BIOS without any trouble... Lucky I had a HD with win 98 that worked on that machine other wise I wouldn't have been able to load the BIOS crackers onto it...

I'll let you know if I have anymore probs. Cheers bro.
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 10:48 PM   #45 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

did you crack it with the stuff i provided?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 11:21 PM   #46 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

Yea I did.

W00t! It's now working... All's good... IOnly problem is I have to install all the software again... Blah... Oh well.

Thanks for your help Warez! You're a champ. Cheers bro
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 11:23 PM   #47 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

good job...hurry up and fix the rest
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 01:36 AM   #48 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

pfft... dude, there is only one common problem here... and I think it's the mtoehrboard...

Once again my computer has stuffed... Different operating system, different HD.... here's what's happening now...

I installed XP with no dramas...

I then installed an antivirus program fine

I then installed Sygate Personal Firewall... It gave me an error and didn't end up installign correctly... I didn't take much notice because just after that I had to restart my computer because windows udpate had downloaded it's newsest download software...

When the computer was restarted I installed Micrososft Office 2000. Half way through the installation stuffed up... I then tried again and it installed ok.

I then went back in to uninstall Sygate Personal Firewall to do a fresh install ebcause it wasnt working properly...

The computer froze and gave me some error after about 5 minutes on a blue background with white writing. That's where my troubles began. Ever since then the compuetr sometimes freezes...

I then tried to do a CHKDSK on the HD to make sure there where no errors on it... The first time it got to stage 4 and stayed on 0 percent for 5 minutes. It then gave me a HARD ERROR message (white writing, blue background).

I tried that same rpocess once more and again on stage 4 it gave me a different error... DRIVER_UNLOADED_WITHOUT_CANCELLING_PENDING_OPERATI ONS

whoop whoop my life is fun. What do you suggest I do? Is the motherboard gone?

Thanks for your help/
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 01:51 AM   #49 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

did you do an install of xp service pack 2. if you did you should disable xp firewall before you installed another one.

search this forum for the techie tool kit thread and download the cd
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 10:31 PM   #50 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

no I did not install service pack 2... I've requested the techie tool kit. Thanks

Any idea what the problem could be?
__________________

Mr. tech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.