Can't access windows 2000 after software install... - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2005, 12:28 AM   #31 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

ok. so you put the 2000 HDD on a pc with xo on it and you cant boot into xp, you get nothing when before you could log into xp correct? Get into your bios on the new pc with xp and set it to boot from the xp harddrive. If that dont work, try cable select which means take the jumpers off the hdd's.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 03:24 AM   #32 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

Cable select seemed to work. Cheers! Man am I having a hard time today... I'm trying to format the new hard drive but it aint letting me... I'll open a new thread for that. Thanks for your help bro
__________________

Mr. tech is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 04:33 AM   #33 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

OK, I've backed up the HD, I've ghosted XP onto the new HD and I have put back into the old computer with the new XP install on it...

But once again, just to top it all off it aint working... here's what's happening:

I turn on the computer.

The memory screen appears, the screen with writing appears on a black background.

It then says the computer didn't shut down properly... I click either start in Safe Mode or Start Windows Normally.

The screen goes black to 10 seconds and then a blue screen with white writing appears for half a second and then disappears.

The computer then restarts and does the same thing over and over.


ARGHHH! Any ideas.........? Thanks for your help.
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 12:40 PM   #34 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

restart it, go to another pc and download a windows 98 bootdisk which will format your hdd for you. do you know the commands?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 06:05 PM   #35 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

I did all that. First I FDISKed the HD then I formated it using Windows XP. I then ghosted Windows XP from another HD onto the new HD. Is that correct?

Cheers
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 06:06 PM   #36 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you took a ghost image from another hdd? and then put it on this one? you cant do that because there are different drivers on that ghost version than yours unless it was done with the same system
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 06:13 PM   #37 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

Can I just uninstall the drivers when I finally get into the HD?

Because of those different drivers, is that why it wont boot?
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 07:45 PM   #38 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mr. tech
Can I just uninstall the drivers when I finally get into the HD?

Because of those different drivers, is that why it wont boot?
1.maybe if it boot

2.could be
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 07:57 PM   #39 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

Thanks Eric.

Can anyone give me a definate answer? Is there such thing as a Motherboard not supporting Windows XP?
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 08:12 PM   #40 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

maybe a mac mobo....
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.