Can't access windows 2000 after software install... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2005, 10:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default Can't access windows 2000 after software install...

I downloaded this Driver and installed it. it turned out to be some Intel Accellerator or something like that:

http://download.aopen.com.tw/userdow...del=AX3S%20Pro

Then it asked me to restart my computer... I did that but once it got to the Windows 2000 Processional screen it gets to 10 bars (in the "starting up" section) and then just stays there... frozen.

I tried accessing the computer in safe mode but once again it froze...

Any dieas how I can get back into my PC?

Also I can't get into the BIOS because it's password protected from the last user...
__________________

Mr. tech is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 10:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.windowsreinstall.com/wind...ipageindex.htm
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 11:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

Are you serious? Isn't there another way?
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 11:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

dead serious..did you try resetting the bios using the jumper?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 11:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

I've tried it before... didn't work...

If I do this repair, will it remvoe all the software, files, data etc?

Could i fix it by setting the harddrive as the secondary harddrive?
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 11:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

no, it is just a repair, follow the instructions carefully and dont do a reinstall
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 11:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

OK, fingers crossed... That is really annoying... hopefully I can find this windows cd somewhere..............................
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 11:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

what kind of bios do you have?

here are some bios crackers


http://www.11a.nu/page.php?27

http://www.cgsecurity.org/index.html?cmospwd.html

ACER/IBM BIOS
AMI BIOS
AMI WinBIOS 2.5
Award 4.5x/4.6x/6.0
Compaq (1992)
Compaq (New version)
IBM (PS/2, Activa, Thinkpad)
Packard Bell
Phoenix 1.00.09.AC0 (1994), a486 1.03, 1.04, 1.10 A03, 4.05 rev 1.02.943, 4.06 rev 1.13.1107
Phoenix 4 release 6 (User)
Gateway Solo - Phoenix 4.0 release 6
Toshiba
Zenith AMI
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 11:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

It's Award 6.0PG

I can't find my Windows 2000 install CD anywhere... I do have Windows XP... Maybe I should set the Windows 2000 as a secondary HD, copy the info from it and then do a fresh install...

What do you suggest?

This sucks... One stupid software install and it stuffs my whole PC.... ARGHH!!!
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 11:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

XP sounds good to me...good idea...why didnt you install XP in the first place?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.