cant access any folders - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2004, 10:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
Default cant access any folders

I just turned on my PC and tryed to access my music folder in my documents and it asks me what program to open it with. It dose this with all folders located in my documents and on C drive.

If i right click the folder and select open it opens fine but i cant double click it or it asks me to specify what to open it with.

also there are two opens the top one dosent work the bottom one dose.

Im running Windows ME



HELP!

Thankx in advance

buba
__________________

bubafatass is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 12:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to dragondima
Default

try a virus scan because it's probably a corrupt folder. that is probably the problem and if that doesn't work to remake the folder.
__________________

dragondima is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 12:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
Default

i have run AVG and it found no virus's and its not just one folder its all of them.

thankx again for any help
bubafatass is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 12:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 193
Default

well your first mistake was running windows me :-D ... my guess is you (or a program) deleted some system file which was part of the shell that relates windows folders to the program that displays it's contents. try opening it w/ explorer and see what happens.
__________________
Before posting ask your question here:
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.google.com/search\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"q\" size=\"5\" maxlength=\"255\" style=\"width:200px;\" /><input type=\"submit\" name=\"ask\" value=\"Ask\" style=\"width:40px\" />
</form>
modemide is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 12:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
Default

lol yeh ME sucks, i can open it in explorer and if i click the second open after i right click it opens fine too.
bubafatass is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.