Cannot remove Favorites and Recent Documents Menus from Start Menu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2005, 05:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 380
Default Cannot remove Favorites and Recent Documents Menus from Start Menu

1. NoRecentDocsMenu
2. NoFavoritesMenu
These DWORD Values do not really remove the two menus from the Start menu. I even tried removing those menus using Microsoft TweakerUI but it didnt work either.

I am using Mozilla 1.0 set as the default browser. Does Mozilla conflict with such registry tweaks?
__________________

piggysmile is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 05:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 380
Default

anyway, am on Win98SE
__________________

piggysmile is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 01:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 183
Default

Make sure you are in the following key :
heky_current_user\software\microsoft\windows\curre ntversion\policies\explorer

You do have the right vaule names, have you set the value it self though? Try setting them to 1 and that should cure your problem.

~ Fawks
Red Fox is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 01:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Or use X-Setup: www.x-setup.com
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 12:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

right click your toolbar, select properties, click start menu , customize, while you are here, I would set the start menu to 0 and clear the list. next click advance, uncheck favorites and list my recently open documants and clear the list. I usually set my control panel to 'display as menu' so I can access it faster and I check my network places and printers and faxes
EricB is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 03:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 380
Default

i formatted my hard drive and its working properly now.

just dont know which software conflicted with those reg entries.
__________________

piggysmile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.