Cannot open task manager - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2006, 10:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

np.....
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 10:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 153
Default

hey sry for slow response. But I still cannot access my task manager

I was slow coming back because for some reason, I always automatically log onto my Administrator account instead of the one I use all the time.

Also, I am using zonelabs firewall and its always detecting protector.exe

Maybe thats a virus and the problem?
__________________

crazlunatic is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 10:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

XP Repair install

Please read carefully and make sure you followed the warning links before initiating the Repair Install. You can print a text version for reference. repair.txt

Boot the computer using the XP CD. You may need to change the boot order in the system BIOS so the CD boots before the hard drive. Check your system documentation for steps to access the BIOS and change the boot order.
When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see the options below
This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft
Windows XP to run on your computer:

To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.

To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.

To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.

Press Enter to start the Windows Setup. do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R", (you Do Not want to load Recovery Console). I repeat, do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R".
Accept the License Agreement and Windows will search for existing Windows installations.
Select the XP installation you want to repair from the list and press R to start the repair. If Repair is not one of the options, END setup. After the reboot read Warning#2!
Setup will copy the necessary files to the hard drive and reboot. Do not press any key to boot from CD when the message appears. Setup will continue as if it were doing a clean install, but your applications and settings will remain intact.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 10:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 153
Default

woah you are godlike. I was reading your tutorials and they were sick. Btw whats warning 2?
__________________
<strong><font size="2.2"><a href="http://vistarewired.com/2007/03/14/10-things-you-wished-you-had-known-about-vista/"> 10 must-know Vista tips and tutorials</a></font></strong>
<p>
crazlunatic is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 10:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to s0me0ne Send a message via Yahoo to s0me0ne
Default

"Task Manager has been disabled by your administrator"

start>run
REG add HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Pol icies\System /v DisableTaskMgr /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f

hit ok. yeay its fixed.

might have a virus. been there before on a users machine just a heads up
__________________
Anal nerd who can\'t spell.
s0me0ne is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 11:00 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

dont worry about warning 2 yet......
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 11:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 153
Default

lol thx. **** I am already reinstalling my windows.

Computer all of the sudden rebooted during install. Weird, so now im reinstalling from the 39 minute mark again!

thx guys. 4 ur help
crazlunatic is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 11:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 153
Default

Hey. I repaired windows. It had no effect unfortunately. I ran the registry command and it worked!!!!!!... except that I still cannot access my registry.

Why is that?
__________________

crazlunatic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.