Cannot Install Windows - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2006, 08:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to mnms238
Default Cannot Install Windows

I recently loaded Windows Vista RC1 onto my machine because I thought it would be nice to see what the new OS was like. After about a week, I came to the conclusion that I hated it, and resolved to move back to XP Home. So, I pulled my hard drive out, plugged it into another machine available to me (I do not trust Vista's backup program; it doesn't use BKF files). After backing up the drive, I plugged it into my machine and booted off of the Windows XP Home CD.

I have run the install multiple times and been unable to complete it. At some point during the process, the installation freezes, but it happens at a different point each time. Sometimes it will freeze during formatting the disk, sometimes during the initial file copy, and sometimes during the GUI portion of setup. Also, I will sometimes boot up to be greeted with a hard disk read error. I have removed the hard drive and run chkdsk on it, which reported it as having no errors.

If it helps, I have an Asus A8N-SLI Premium with an AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+, and a Western Digital Caviar SE16, 250GB. I have no idea where to go from here, and would greatly appreciate any help.
__________________

mnms238 is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 11:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

are both these machines the same?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 11:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

you should hook it back up to the other machine and format it form there and then put it back in ur machine and try the installation.
__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.