Cannot find server: new build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2008, 08:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
Default Cannot find server: new build

I just did a clean install of XP Pro 64X on a new system. I cannot access the internet, broadband LAN. I get "cannot find server" or if I type a web site in, "cannot detect a connection".

AFter installing XP, I have done and checked the following. Installed the CD chipset, the BIOS LAN is enabled, the green light is on in the LAN port, and ran the internet wizard. I disconnected/connected the broadband box power, ran network troubleshooter (LAN detected and passed), Under device manager no yellow question marks beside the ethernet.

MOBO: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
Internet: Broadband cable LAN

Any suggestions?
__________________

ScttLee is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 10:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Cannot find server: new build

ipconfig /release

ipconfig /renew

or

ipconfig /flushdns
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 10:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Cannot find server: new build

Also try to reset your router and modem. It might not recognize the Ethernet card on the new machine and is blocking it from accessing the net. I had this happena couple of times when taking the wire from my old machine and jsut plugging it into my new mahcine.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 06:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Cannot find server: new build

It is now working. Prevoiusly, I disconnected the power for 2 minutes with no luck. I disconnected everything for 30 minutes while I rearranged my work area, and when I plugged everything back in, ir was working.

Thanks for all your advice.
ScttLee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to reach a network device from one specific server jrendon Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 01-28-2008 03:37 PM
Cannot ping when server & pc on same switch htcs Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 04-05-2007 11:31 AM
Help with MS Exchange Server 2003!!! Fly4High Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-03-2007 05:14 AM
New Server Advice / Parition Size / Server 2003 R2 htcs Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-02-2007 06:01 PM
Server Box avinnik Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-29-2007 12:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.