"Cannot Find Partition Settings" HELP! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2005, 12:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Unhappy "Cannot Determine Partition Settings" HELP!

OK I always leave my computer on and for some strange reason, when I came home, it was off. I was like OK maybe I had a power surge or outage. So I go to turn on my computer and as I look at the screen it gives me the error saying "Error loading Operating System". So I automatically knew something was up. My computer then restarted. After it restarted I went and got my factory reinstall disks. When I put them in I got a error saying "Cannot Determine Partition Settings". This has happened before and for some reason one time it worked. I don't know why but it isnt working now. So I called up my friend and he gave me his install disks to his dell **NOTE** I have a Sony Vaio PCV-RS322**END NOTE** and recovery disks worked good but, I HATE DELL. So I want it off ASAP. Also, the more important reason why I want my computer back to original settings is because I got a couple of programs and games that came with my computer that I need (like microsoft word). So I hope I gave a clear undertstanding of my problem. Thanks for the help. Peace.
__________________

Geek_Alert is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 01:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

What OS are you running?
__________________

__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 03:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Microsoft Windows XP Home Ed.
Geek_Alert is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 09:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Hmmm, to my understanding Sony makes a secret file on the hard drive that triggers the Partition from the Recovery disks. So, if I just got a new hard drive would there be a way I could get this file? Or am I going to have to buy a special one from Sony? Any other ideas though? I rather not buy a new HD. I have gotten it to work once but, I dont know. It just seemed like my computer wanted to help this time. Thanks.
Geek_Alert is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 09:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

There might not be an active partition on the hard disk that you want to use to start the computer, or the wrong partition might be identified as the active partition. In that case, use an MS-DOS Startup diskette to start the computer and use the Fdisk tool to set or change the active partition. If the MBR is corrupted, which youÂ’d see if the error message occurs again after using Fdisk, you might need a third-party disk that can make the change manually. The partition table field that should be changed is the System ID field.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 10:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Hmmm, kind of made sense. Whats an MBR? Also Im not sure if I told you but, I have a OS installed. My friend had an Old Dell disk that he let me borrow that installed XP Home Ed. Also I want to return it to factory settings because I have to activate it in 30 days and Im not even sure if what I'm doing is conisdered legal. I just put it on there as a temp. solution. OK my D: Partition is good. Everything that was on it before is still there. It's my C: Partition that got whiped out. So I want to reinstall my old / factory settings of my C: Drive so I can get some programs that came with my computer. Like Age of the Empires and possibly see if I can get My Documents back. Thanks. Also do you want me to go to Open up my Command Prompt? Maybe we could talk over msn if you have. I appreciate your time. Thanks!
Geek_Alert is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 12:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default

M+B+R = Master Boot Record

if you have successfully installed a new OS using your friends Dell disk(s) then your documents are already gone...if you use your SONY disk(s) ages of empire will be restored as well as Word...
ECTech is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 02:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Geek_Alert
Hmmm, kind of made sense. Whats an MBR? Also Im not sure if I told you but, I have a OS installed. My friend had an Old Dell disk that he let me borrow that installed XP Home Ed. Also I want to return it to factory settings because I have to activate it in 30 days and Im not even sure if what I'm doing is conisdered legal. I just put it on there as a temp. solution. OK my D: Partition is good. Everything that was on it before is still there. It's my C: Partition that got whiped out. So I want to reinstall my old / factory settings of my C: Drive so I can get some programs that came with my computer. Like Age of the Empires and possibly see if I can get My Documents back. Thanks. Also do you want me to go to Open up my Command Prompt? Maybe we could talk over msn if you have. I appreciate your time. Thanks!
activate it using your key. those program will still work on your sony cd. it will check to make sure that is the right computer, then it will let you install the programs.

I install xpsp2 on a fresh install on my wife computer in this manner (sony had it a xpsp1)
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.