Cannot connect to internet - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2005, 03:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Default Cannot connect to internet

My friend found a virus what she shortly removed afterwards which was messing with her internet connection , She wasnt able to connect anymore so she did a virus scan and thats when she removed i , but still cannot connect to the internet , Its Receiving info , but cannot send .. Any ideas? Shes using DSL , Windows XP .
I tried doing a system restore but she didnt have that set up , I asked to foremat she no longer has the CD.

Their any way to set windows to its default settings without the CD?
__________________

saxton22 is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 03:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

Is she recieving a valid IP?When she ries to send what happens?Even though the virus has been removed there is a possiablity that there is spyware present.
__________________

__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 03:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Default

Ive only had her ping herself , and that came up good 1ms<! that crap
saxton22 is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 03:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

Ping herself?you mean the loopback ping?Whats the IP?
__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 03:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Default

127.0.0.1 Is all I did as far as that
saxton22 is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 03:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

127.0.0.1 is the loopback ping and will only test her TCP/IP protocols are correctly installed.Have her do a ipconfig in the command promt and see if she is getting a valid IP and a default gateway.
__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 03:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Default

Ok I had her put it in , nothing came up ,
Said Windows Configurtaion
then it went RIGHT back to cmd without saying any IPs
saxton22 is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 03:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

Then the NIC is been disabled manuely or the virus did it.Have her go right click my computer and select properties/Hardware tab/Device manager then click on the + beside network adapters.Right-click on the adapter with a red x on it and enable it.Then do the ipconfig again.
__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 04:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Default

Sorry its taking me so long , I have to call her ect.

Ok I forgot that she disables her eathernet lastnight , she clicked it back up we did the ipconfig the basics came up , then I had her ping me ,

packets sent= 4 received = 0
saxton22 is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 04:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

What is the IP address that she is getting?If it is a 169.254..etc. then that is a default IP address windows assigns itself.Try a ipconfig /renew.If it fails then unplug the DSL modem from the wall for about 45 sec,then plug it back in, this reboots the modem.While the modem is unpluged have her shut down the computer and boot up the computer after the modem boots up.
__________________

__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.