Cannot change special permisssion in either of our domains - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2006, 12:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9
Question Cannot change special permisssion in either of our domains

We've hit a strange problem. The special permissions ACL is greyed out
on all levels in both of our domains. I would assume this means it's
propogated from a parent object, but there is no higher level AD tree
that our top level domain could be getting this permission from. I'm
wondering if it has anything to do with a recent patch from microsoft..
Has anyone else experienced this problem recently?

CH
__________________

techQ7A is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 01:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Does the parent level have greyed out ACLs?

Can you unclick the propagate to child from the parent?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 01:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Yes. At every level the special permissions are greyed out. Domain Admins have a grey checked mark, and everyone has a grey blank for special permissions. I know there's an exchange security patch that took away the special send as permissions recently, but I'm not sure if that is related to this issue.

CH
techQ7A is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 05:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Additionally, if I remove the 'allow permissions to inherit from parent folder' check box, the special permissions box is still greyed out.

Ch
techQ7A is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 05:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Well, unless the propagating permissions are extremely high up in the tree, lets assume it's the patch.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 05:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Yeah, that is what I'm thinking. It's hard to believe microsoft would just outright disable special permissions, but it does seem to be a recent occurence. And there's only two of us who make AD changes, so it wasn't configured on our side.. I guess I'll have to take it up with them.
Thanks,

CH
__________________

techQ7A is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.