cannot add a network printer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2005, 04:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
allan16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 373
Default cannot add a network printer

I get this message:

Operation could not be completed . The network address is invalid


This happens when I try to add any network printer
__________________

allan16 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

How do you have the printer shared ?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
allan16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 373
Default

I have no idea....I guess We pull out the drivers for the printers from a server
allan16 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

ok your going to have to explain a few things...
Are you on a domain network ?
Is this printer networkable?
Is there a print server ?
Is the printer online ?
Can you ping the printer ?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
allan16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 373
Default

We are on a domain network
the printer is it networkable
I'm pretty sure there is a print server
the printer it is online
I dont know the ip of the printer
allan16 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bradybnmci
ok your going to have to explain a few things...
Are you on a domain network ?
Is this printer networkable?
Is there a print server ?
Is the printer online ?
Can you ping the printer ?
I want to add a question -


Are you and administrator?
Do you know what you are doing?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Do you know the printer name ?
Are you trying to add the printer via printer name ?
Are you able to see the printer in a printer server directory ?

If you know the printer name :
ping the printer name.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
allan16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 373
Default

I just talked to the user ..and he was not able to map the printer while he was wireless....He switched back to LAN and he was able to map it just fine...

weird..........
allan16 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

go to the server the printer is installed on. go to properties and look under ports and it will tell you the ip. then you can try to ping it. Is the printer hooked up via cat 5 or is there a printer cable goin into a box(print server) and cat 5 going into that?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by allan16
I just talked to the user ..and he was not able to map the printer while he was wireless....He switched back to LAN and he was able to map it just fine...

weird..........



lol still don't make sense
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.