Cannot Access Windows - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2006, 05:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
Default Cannot Access Windows

Hiya there,
I had installed Windows XP Professional on my laptop, i then partioned the hard drive to allow a Linux O/S to install. It was all fine then i decided i want to install another, beter version on linux, me being me, i deleted the partion using windows. It was all going fine, then i put my laptop onto hibernation so i could continue the next day. Now when i boot up, i get the GRUB error 22 code, which is that GRUB has failed to load. Because I put my laptop into hibonation, i cannot get into my BIOS to change my boot order to CD, therefore cant reinstal linux, so i cannot reinstall GRUB. So i am completly stuck. Any one got any suggestions. If not, looks like a new hard drive, which a the moment, is not a option. I dont care about have Linux any more, just want Windows. LOL. Any help well apprecaited. Thanks Daimian
__________________

daymo999 is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 06:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I wonder if you can reset the BIOS, it would boot of the CD first. Most computer's BIOS setting by default have the CD before the hard drive.
__________________

__________________

Law is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 06:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Hiya, I have tried resetting the BIOS, but i am no sure how to, I know in a computer, its the battery, but there is no battery in a lpatop, is there? Thanks Daimian
daymo999 is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Hiya, I have tried resetting the BIOS, but i am no sure how to, I know in a computer, its the battery, but there is no battery in a lpatop, is there? Thanks Daimian
daymo999 is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 07:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Hey,, if you can't reset the BIOS, you can take off your hard disk and connect it to another PC as external hard disk and then you would be able to format it.
GhOoOoSt is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 11:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
Default

thanks mate, i will do that, becuse the hard drive wont boot in my laptop, if i take it out and use an adapter i have got, that converts 2.5 IDE hard drive to USB, could plug that in as USB on another laptop and boot that way? thanks for helping. Daimian
__________________

daymo999 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.