Cannot Access Disk Management - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2005, 09:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 184
Exclamation Cannot Access Disk Management - Virus?

I want to do a couple of tasks in Disk Managment (change a drive letter and change the default disk) but it will not let me open it. I am the admin on my computer, there are no other users and have tried through the icon, shortcut and run...

Happens for all the programmes in Admin Tools.
__________________

rememberme is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 09:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 184
Default

Ok, this might be a virus because it wont let me open Norton's folder or my P2P shared folder...

...and my Windows Manager processes window is not there lol I can't turn any dodgy processes off! ERM Google time
__________________

rememberme is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 09:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 184
Default

??? and if I type the word virus in IE the window closes WTF????
rememberme is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 09:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

1 word...... FORMAT
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 09:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 184
Default

Sorry modz, problem sorted it was a virus lol

For anyone who might get this problem:

Type "taskmgr.exe /m" in the Run menu and hit enter. The Processes window will popup all greyed out so you can't see the processes. Double click the area where it should be and it will look like it is going full screen.

Press ALT+F4 to close it, go into Run again and type the same info in... It should pop up with just the processes and nothing else on the screen. Delete the dll16 and any other dodgy looking processes. It will say it is unsafe etc etc, but just end it.

Should be ok after that. Run your AV software and it should kill it!

Norton decided to detect the virus after I fixed its damage :s

You can delete this thread if you want admins - sorry people!
rememberme is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.