Can you somehow join 2 computers 2gether to make it faster - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2005, 03:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Default Can you somehow join 2 computers 2gether to make it faster

Please help me, this may be a stupid question but I thought I heard somebody say you can join 2 computers together to make it faster, say i hav 2 P3's could i join them???
Thanks
__________________

__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to Iantosca
Default

As far as I know I'm guessing you can split jobs between 2 computers or multiple (distributed.net, seti@home), and there is such thing getting dual processors.

As far as networking them, it really doesn't make either computer run faster. So if you network a p4 with a p3 both computers are going to be the same speed as before.
__________________

Iantosca is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 04:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

research distributed computing
office politics is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 04:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

just upgrade the mobo and chip....
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 04:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to Iantosca
Default

Oh yea, to make a supercomputer they connected a bunch of G5's ... I don't know why that slipped my mind. But yeah, research distributed computing.

Thanks csamuels, it something I'm gonna look into also.
Iantosca is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 05:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

There are several things that might be what you are looking for... The Xeon chips and all P3/P2 you can find mobo's that offer dual or more chips. This will make the system run faster if you are using an OS that will take advantage of it. Win2k Xp or any win server OS from NT4 up. Also Linux supports it.
The other is distrubuted Computing, as was stated above. Although the thought of distrubuted computing is ussually thought of as in massive groups around the world. You can do what is called Clustering at home, but it requires a bit of know how in both networking and process scheduling to understand how it works. The other thing, is you need more then 3 machines I believe. 1 machine to act as the scheduler and pool machine, the other 2 are the process machines. You can do it with 2, but what is the point...
You have to run a Linux varient too as I have never seen aything on a windows system doing this, but I could be wrong.
Something you all might want to read about is Beowulf Clustering.
good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 06:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Default

Thnaks but i don't understand distributed.net
__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 06:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Default

i want 2 somehow hook 2 P3's up, if thers no way just tell me
__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 11:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

I think its called clustering servers/workstations. Following are articles on workstations. http://www.workstationplanet.com/fea...le.php/3437011

The closest related to what you're talking about.
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 01:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MikePB3
i want 2 somehow hook 2 P3's up, if thers no way just tell me
Buy a dual p3 mobo, and throw those on. Also it really depends what p3 you want to do a dual machine with.
I know if you want to run a dual CPU machine with p3 450's. The P2 dual setup would whoop the p3's a$$ performance wise. Because the P2's have 512kb l2 ram. The more cache ram the better the performance is!

Also to take advantage of dual cpu's you need an OS that will support it win2000 and XP Pro. Also you need programs that support SMP (symetrical multi processing) these programs include, adobe premiere, autodesk inventor, maya, etc. Basically really really high end professional software.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.