Can you reload WXP without losing all data? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2003, 03:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6
Default Can you reload WXP without losing all data?

When I try to repair, I hit the r key when the disk boots up, and it asks me what section I wan to repair. It is a 1 letter answer. Cant I just reload the whole OS wothout affecting all my other prgrams , data etc?
__________________

Steve396LT1 is offline  
Old 10-26-2003, 11:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 386
Send a message via ICQ to chesman Send a message via Yahoo to chesman
Default

yes, you can install win xp again without deleteing all your files. i did this once by accident. lol :P umm but it put all my file dna what not in a seperate folder so i had to drag and put them where they go again after i instaled the os But they technicly were not installed i think., i cant remmember, theywere not in the add/remove programs list. It was weird, i think i just reinstalled XP over the old one without formatting.
__________________

__________________
WinXP Pro
P4 2.5 Ghz/socket 478/400FSB/512L2
512 megs PC800 Rambus
ABIT TH7II-Raid mobo
128MB Nvidia FX 5200 Home Theatre w/TV out and Remote
80 Gig Western Digital/8mb Cache/7200 RPM\'s
20 gig Fujitsu/2mb Cache/5400 RPM\'s
48x40x48/16X Dvd/CD-Burner
chesman is offline  
Old 10-26-2003, 06:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to Max Paws
Default

I believe when you reinstall that way, it WILL delete all files in the /Windowws directory first. However, your "data" files aren't generally there, so no problem. However, there IS still a problem waiting for you in that your "Programs" will no longer be "installed". They may still technically be on the drive, but no longer installed. That's why the above response is correct saying they are no longer accessible from the "add/remove programs" options.
Max Paws is offline  
Old 10-27-2003, 02:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

whenever you reinstall an OS it will usually be clean, nothing in the "installed programs" list, only Windows's registry files and default 'Windows-crappy-drivers'
you will have to reinstall all the programs, but not much will change appart from having a 'cleaned out' operating system.
if you just install Windows to a different directory (like C:\Win instead of C:\Windows) it won't change any files even from the previous OS, but it would mean you take up more space with the prev OS still on the Hard Drive
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-27-2003, 02:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

you can but your system will not be as stable as a FFR.
ADZ is offline  
Old 10-27-2003, 09:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

Is FFR,, like Full Format Reinstall,, BTW??

all these fancy shorties,, HDD,FDD,USDV2, DVD, MPV APV, USDA, JFK, LMNOP,

I need more sesame street for tech dudes,,

__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 10-27-2003, 09:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

You can always do an upgrade. that'll save your current data and programs, but that's not the real stable way to go. The best way to clean up any issues is to format and re-install. Just back up your data. And if you have many large files that you can't back up, then take whatever freespace you have, get partition magic 8 (I think that's the newest one) and do a partition on the fly. Store all of your needed data there and format the original drive.
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 10-27-2003, 01:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 125
Default

I just reinstalled XP without losing anything. All my programs were still there and working just fine. Did not lose any shortcuts or files. I just put the cd in and reinstalled it because I was having trouble with disk check.
dhsrcjh is offline  
Old 10-27-2003, 01:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 161
Default

yes, dhsrcjh is right. I think this applies to any OS
Cherubimon_3.20 is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 12:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

well if you just reinstall XP over XP it will not clean aything out, you will still have the cluttered up registry files and stuff
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.