Can you help me diagnose a blue screen problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2006, 05:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to brrymnvette
Default Can you help me diagnose a blue screen problem

I got a Dell XPS 600 for my boss a couple of months ago. Well, it's blue sceened twice already and both times chkdsk found a ton of bad files, indexes. It repiared them and the computer worked for a while. I tried taking out the memory and booting, but it wouldn't boot without it installed. I haven't put different memory in there and tried it. Off the top of my head it's a P4, XP SP2, 1024 Ram, 500GB. Can't remember the rest off hand. I'll have to go back up there and look. I copied the Blue screen errors I just received. The 1st one is the one I got initially, then I rebooted and got the second twice before CHKDSK would run.

1st BLUE SCREEN

DRIVER_IRQL-NOT-LESS-OR-EQUAL <--Would make me think it's an IRQ problem

Tech Info:
STOP: 0x000000D1 (0X00000004, 0X00000002, 0X00000000, 0XF7490559)

NVATABUS.SYS - Address F74790559 BASE AT F747F000

DATESTAMP 42ddda2d
__________________________________________________ ____

2nd & 3rd Blue Screens

unmountable_boot-volume <--- Bad hard drive losing it's FAT????

STOP: 0X000000ED (0X86760E30, BXC0000006, 0X00000000)




I'm just trying here before I call Dell b/c I hate their Tech support most of the time. I'm thinking the hard drive is losing it's FAT table b/c of all the broken indexes I'm seeing in CHKDSK. Your thoughts?


Thanks for the help,
Andy
__________________

brrymnvette is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 02:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to discreteenmity
Default

can you get into safe mode?
__________________

discreteenmity is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 07:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

NVATABUS.SYS-->nvidia ide driver - uninstall nforce and reinstall it without the ide driver

UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME - 2 possible reasons
1) your using a 40wire ide cable for your hard drive and need to switch to 80 , click here to find out if its 80wire or not , if its sata i guess that cant be it
2) the bios is configured to a higher UDMA mode then supported by the hard drive (a speed related settings) , get it checked its best to have it set on auto
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 09:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to brrymnvette
Default

Can't get it into safe mode. I'll go and reinstall the invidia driver w/o the ide driver, and check the other settings.

Thanks guys.
brrymnvette is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 11:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to brrymnvette
Default

I am on the bad machine right now. It's a SATA setup and I can't seem to get into the BIOS for some reason. I just ran the hard drive diagnostics and it came back as Failed Return Code-7. Every time the comp boots it does checkdisk and deletes orphan file record segment 40100.

I'm unfortunately calling dell's gold support right now and am on hold. I'll let you know if they are able to help.
brrymnvette is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 11:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

do you have the restore cd?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 01:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to brrymnvette
Default

Yep, I did chkdsk /r once again and it's taking over an hour. Dell is sending me a new Hard Drive b/c he says when the diagnostics get the failure code 7 it's a failing hard drive most of the time.
brrymnvette is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 06:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

it might not be too late to fix it. what's the name of the hard drive?

Backup your data too
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 08:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

considering this microsoft support article on that 2nd bsod
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=297185
and the details you provided about that bsod , i highly doubt the hard drive itself as at fault
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 09:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to brrymnvette
Default

Yeah, I tried to tell him about he UDMA settings and he wouldn't listen to me and insisted on sending a new hard drive. I went ahead and did it anyway, just to see if it'll stay up until I HAVE to send the hard drive back.

All data is backed up to my server nightly so I'm not to worried about it going down suddenly.

Thanks, for the help guys.
__________________

brrymnvette is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.