Can you get Past a Hard Drive Password - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2006, 08:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default Can you get Past a Hard Drive Password

hi, i put a Hard Drive password on My new Compaq Presario V5000 Laptop and i forgot the password silly me and was wondering if i could bypass it with a programme or something any ideas ?
__________________

NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 08:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Never heard this before, what kind of program did you use to password protect a hard drive?
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 10:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default

i went in the Bios and did it there i think
__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 11:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

So you have a BIOS password? I dont think you can do a hard drive password from within the bios.

To get rid of the BIOS password try resetting the cmos.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 01:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

yes that would work if there is a bios password and should work for a hard drive password as well which can be done in the bios as well. i have a Dell GX620 in my office and the bios has an option to set a seprate password to just the hard drive, but the stupid dell hard drives i have dont support this feature.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 07:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

did that work?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 10:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 73
Default

i dont understand how it can password the hard drive .. i think you are passwording the computer bootup.

this will not stop smeone from booting from CD or removing the hd to read it
bilbus is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 11:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

well he means the bios itself more than likely, just like some people say can i add a cd burner to my cpu? They are referring to the computer itself...they just dont know
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 02:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

some laptops have hdd and bios passwords.

it a pain in the arse to do but here you go.

unplug it. take the laptop apart. take out the hdd, put it in another machine (laptop) and use power max to wipe it (don't use windows tools). format it as ntfs if you can

back to the laptop. take the ram and regular battery out. take the cmos battery out. touch the negative wire and the positive of the cmos to something metal like a safety pin. now if the capacitor is wired in series this won't work, but most are wire in parellel. push the power button. it won't come on but it will clear the cmos.

put both batteries back in (but no ram). turn it on. it will beep but won't start. repeat this to be sure. this will clear the ram memory. put that hdd back in. reinstall windows.

you have to do it exactly like his or it won't work because the hard drive, ram and cmos all remember that it has a password so you have to clear all 3. it you don't clear all 3, one of them will always restore the other's memory to the password
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 09:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

heh, this is why i've neglected to put on my hdd pass.
bios, startup and windows is good enough for me
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.