Can you get the administrator password through command prompt? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2009, 11:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Can you get the administrator password through command prompt?

Just out of curiosity... because a student got busted earlier today for being logged on to a computer as administrator. By sheer luck, a tech person walked in, spotted him, and booted him off. He told the principal he got the password through command prompt.

Now, I'm curious... is that possible? Or was that a white faced lie?
__________________

Jayce is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 11:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: Can you get the administrator password through command prompt?

could be an privledge escalation attack.

schedule a task to start cmd.

the cmd windows starts with local system privledge.

user resets admin password.



SecurityReason - Windows XP Task Scheduler Local Privilege Escalation (Advisory)
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 12:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Can you get the administrator password through command prompt?

Found it.

Start - Run - CMD -
net user <username> <password>

It resets the local administrator password.

The ironic part is, student accounts are local administrators cause programs like photoshop require admin rights. So we grant local admin rights but not network admin rights (obviously we wouldn't ever give a student network admin rights though). So all this student did was reset the administrator password to the local computer which already had the same priviledges he had anyway. What a way to lose your computer priviledges for the rest of your high school career... by resetting a password on an account that already has the same permissions you do.

LOL?
Jayce is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 12:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Can you get the administrator password through command prompt?

i know it's possible, but most large computer networks have the CP disabled, and you need it to reset the password. But it is possible with the cp.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 12:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Can you get the administrator password through command prompt?

To my knowledge, "cmd" is blockable by group policies.

"command" is not.

So either way, we're stuck... unless we can figure something else out?
Jayce is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 01:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Can you get the administrator password through command prompt?

^all i know is with the command prompt you can do it. Aren't the cmd and "command" the same thing anyway? I don't know much about that aspect of computer though.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 01:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Can you get the administrator password through command prompt?

Yeah, I believe cmd and command are the same thing, but different commands to get the same result...

I'm not positive, it's just what I've heard when I was reading about it.
Jayce is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 11:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Can you get the administrator password through command prompt?

Question - Where is the "command" file at on a Windows 2k Pro/XP Pro system?

Reason is, "cmd" can be blocked by group policies. "command" cannot. An idea was brought up about renaming "command" on the systems we deploy to something that students won't think about. But, we gotta find the file to do that. Where could I find it?
Jayce is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 12:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Can you get the administrator password through command prompt?

Jayce have you thought of using steady state? I know it's a little bit more customisable than group policy's, you can as far as I know say yes user can do this this and this but you cant do that that an that. So you can give them local admin rights for the programs that need it, but the moment there session times out OR they log out the computer is returned to the state that you can specify.

Edit:
Here is some linkadge for you -
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/pro...s/default.mspx
Protect Your Computer: Windows SteadyState - Microsoft Security
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 12:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Can you get the administrator password through command prompt?

Like deep freeze?

We had deep freeze on those computers before, but there were several problems.

For one, the hard drives were burning out left and right. With the amount of students that use them I guess the hard drives reading/writing the way they were was just too much strain. They're not under warranty anymore and, as I said, we pretty much replaced the entire lab's hard drives by now. Once we took deep freeze off, things went smoother and the replacements were cut back severely.

The second thing is, updates. The only way we can get updates to those computers is by disabling deep freeze and allowing the updates to come through. Then, afterwards, deep freeze is re-enabled.

I'm not sure what that application can offer that deep freeze doesn't already do, but we have licensing for deep freeze... so... yeah...
__________________

Jayce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.