can you "deactivate" windows? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2003, 04:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 25
Default can you "deactivate" windows?

is there a way to "deactivate" windows on a computer so that you can use the cd key to install windows on a different computer?
__________________

Holydirt is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 05:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 549
Default

open the registry editor, and goto: hkey_local_machine>software>microsoft>windowznt>cu rrent version>wpaevents> now look for the 'oobetimer' key and doubleclick it. just change a few of the digits to deacivate the os.

to register xp over again- run> c:\windows\system32\oobe\msoobe.exe /a
__________________

__________________
This is Linux country. If you listen carefully, you can hear Windows reboot...
<a href=\"http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html\"> How to ask questions the smart way.</a>
<a href=\"http://action.eff.org/action/index.asp?step=2&item=2906\"> Help stop the PIRATE Act.</a>


chrönik04 is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 05:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 25
Default

windows xp, that is...
Holydirt is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 07:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Yea, the above will work with XP. Just to add a little somethin' somethin', you only need to change one of the hex vaules in the above registry string value. Keep in mind though that the above solution will not "go out" to the net and tell Microsoft that you are no longer using that key for that machine. Microsoft's database is totally seperate and they will still receive a duplicate entry when you try and use this in a second machine. You may have to notify them of a system change.

Good Luck!

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 08:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 25
Default

wait, so doing that would not allow me to install xp with the same key on another computer..hm... i'll try e-mailing microsoft
Holydirt is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 08:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

That would probably be your best bet if it's a Legit Copy.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 08:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 25
Default

ok, since xp came with me computer, they made me call my computer company instead of asking them. i called and they didnt help at all... please... someone has to of had this happen to them... i need help..
Holydirt is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 08:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 25
Default

i know your not supposed to install xp on more that one machine, but it let me install 2, then when i formatted the first one and tried reinstalling it it wouldnt let me... i'm guessing it counted that as 3 or something... but how can i get them to "deactivate" one of my xp usesages, i dont even use the other xp computer... there must be a way..
Holydirt is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 09:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 549
Default

ok look- the cd has no way of knowing how many times you installed xp on different machines. it is somewhat unclear now of just what it is you want to do here.. first you said u wanted to deactivate winxp so u could install to a different machine, correct? follow the instructions i wrote f/you above to de-avtivate. then install xp to your new machine and use the key to activate. your not suppose to install your copy of xp to multiple boxes, however there are plenty of patches aval. that will take care of this 'activation' process for you.
__________________

__________________
This is Linux country. If you listen carefully, you can hear Windows reboot...
<a href=\"http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html\"> How to ask questions the smart way.</a>
<a href=\"http://action.eff.org/action/index.asp?step=2&item=2906\"> Help stop the PIRATE Act.</a>


chrönik04 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.