Can XP run in a HP 7850 Pavillion, 40 gig??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2004, 11:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to cmillarkat Send a message via Yahoo to cmillarkat
Default Can XP run in a HP 7850 Pavillion, 40 gig???

I was told that Windows XP wold not be able to run in my HP 7850 Pavillion. I am having trouble with resources, I have graphics prigrams and music programs I like, and of course they eat up my resources, right now I have Windows ME.

Can there be a way to get more space, is a bigger hard drive or will XP help my loss in resources??? I need to know if I can use this computer and not have to buy a new one, would like to make more room.


Thanks and sorry so long this was my first post.


Cindy
__________________

__________________
Cindy
cmillarkat is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 11:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 241
Default Yes but

Yes
Save your money and don't get sucked in with XP.ME is fine for what you do.
About resources,see PM
__________________

stan-the-man is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 11:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to cmillarkat Send a message via Yahoo to cmillarkat
Default

Thanks so much just PM'd oyu ....

Cindy
__________________
Cindy
cmillarkat is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 11:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

if you are happy with ME stay with it. if you are experiencing severe problems with it i say get winXP. save all data and do a full install. it will ask to verify for valid windows media. put your winME cd in when it asks this. doing this instead of an upgrade is highly recommended
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 11:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 241
Default Pm

Quote:
Originally posted by cmillarkat
Thanks so much just PM'd oyu ....

Cindy
Was it me,i have nothing new.
stan-the-man is offline  
Old 02-26-2004, 12:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 241
Angry hmm


:amazed: :amazed:

stan-the-man is offline  
Old 02-26-2004, 12:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to cmillarkat Send a message via Yahoo to cmillarkat
Default Sorry must be a full moon

I thought you asked me to PM you re resources ....well it is late so maybe a good nites sleep will help my eyesight hehehehe



Sorry
Cindy
__________________
Cindy
cmillarkat is offline  
Old 02-26-2004, 12:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
btv
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 120
Default

if i'm correct you have p3 933mhz with 128mb of ram.
more ram would help.
winxp can run on slower computers.
if you want to get an idea if your computer will handle xp,download the advisor. http://www.microsoft.com/WINDOWSXP/h...ng/advisor.asp
__________________

__________________
.
btv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.