can only start in safe mode with xp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2004, 08:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default can only start in safe mode with xp

k guys here we go ill explain this as good as i can
first of all im using windows xp pro
ok i tried to install norton 2005 on my computer i already have norton systemworks 2004 so what i did is change the install folder to the antivirus that came with systemworks 2004 not a good idea as now i cant start my comp in normal mode ,i am in safe mode at the moment but when i goto add and remove programs to uninstall norton it just says your comp is in safe mode, please restart in normal mode and wont uninstall it please help as i have important files on ere that i dont wanna lose oh and by the way it actualy took about 8 mins to start up in safe mode too hope someone can help cheers mlr
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 08:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Disable all norton services and reboot.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 09:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

norton doesent seem to be running anyway ive tried removing norton and tried reinstalling but it wont let me because its in safe mode damn theres goto be a way
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 09:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I would delete the entire Norton folders. (at your own risk)
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 08:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default Re: can only start in safe mode with xp

Quote:
Originally posted by mlr
k guys here we go ill explain this as good as i can
first of all im using windows xp pro
ok i tried to install norton 2005 on my computer i already have norton systemworks 2004 so what i did is change the install folder to the antivirus that came with systemworks 2004 not a good idea as now i cant start my comp in normal mode ,i am in safe mode at the moment but when i goto add and remove programs to uninstall norton it just says your comp is in safe mode, please restart in normal mode and wont uninstall it please help as i have important files on ere that i dont wanna lose oh and by the way it actualy took about 8 mins to start up in safe mode too hope someone can help cheers mlr
I would format, reinstall without norton definitely
derrmc is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 12:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default


mlr,

what happens if you press "F8" at boot time and enter normal mode? are you getting any error? Or it hangs at normal mode before loading all the programs?

intercodes is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 12:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

get to system restore in safe mode.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 06:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

if i go to normal mode it takes about 10 mins to boot up then when it does eventualy get to the desktop theres no icons or anything so i cant use normal mode,as for doing system restore in safe mode it wont let me do this either looks like im going to have to refotmat,damn thanks for all your imput guys
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 06:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Re-install gfx drivers is safe mode
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 06:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default


I guess he pretty much screwed up the system , trying to install/remove Norton stuff.Reformat/Reinstall is a sound option.
__________________

intercodes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.