Can not use "regedit" from the run command in XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2005, 01:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via Yahoo to cantes903
Default Can not use "regedit" from the run command in XP

Whenever I try and use the "regedit" command from the run line in the start menu using Windows XP I get the error that says "The NTVDM CPU has encountered an illegal instruction. Then a line of letters and codes and it says to choose 'close' to terminate the program." If I choose close or ignore it closes anyway.
The only help I have found was at Microsoft.com and it was talking about using the install disk and going to the run line and inputting another code. Well, my computer came from a rent to own place and already had XP installed. So I don't have the install disk.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!!

Here is a screen shot of the error:

__________________

cantes903 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 03:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

It should be launching a .exe file not a .com file..thats odd. Can you manually browse to the regedit.exe file and launch it that way? You should find it here

C:\WINDOWS\regedit.exe
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 05:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
void's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 198
Default

I sounds like malware. Some thing may have changed the file extension of regedit to stop it from running, so something can't be found. I'd run AV and anti-spyware and maybe post a Hijack This log in the Virus\spyware section.
void is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 07:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

go to C:\windows\system32, arrange icons by type, and delete all the .com files except for:
command.com
diskcomp.com
diskcopy.com
edit.com
format.com
graftabl.com
graphics.com
loadfix.com
tree.com
win.com
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 03:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i think i have a similar problem as well, i type "regedit" and nothing happens

but i type "regedit.exe" and the registry editor appears
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 03:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

What about :

regedt32 ?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 03:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i dunno, im at school for about 30 more mins.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 06:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Error Message: MS-DOS or 16-bit Windows-based program
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 08:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Malware. Regedit.exe is never regedit.com........clean up that puter!!!!!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 09:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via Yahoo to cantes903
Default Tried your suggestions

Quote:
Originally posted by Win2kpatcher
It should be launching a .exe file not a .com file..thats odd. Can you manually browse to the regedit.exe file and launch it that way? You should find it here

C:\WINDOWS\regedit.exe
I am able to launch regedit.exe that way.

As for malware, I do frequent scans and nothing is found but I'm gonna try again and post the HJThis log.

Thanks for the replys.
__________________

cantes903 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.