Can I use SP3 for now? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2006, 07:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 21
Default Can I use SP3 for now?

My friend that got a supposedly legit edition of SP3 now has it loaded on his computer. It works fine and even shows up as SP3.
It loads up without key codes and shows a picture of a Nissan Skyline. My friend wants to get Vista when it comes out and doesn't really want to waste the money for SP2 now when Vista is only a year out. How bad is it for him to run this for now and then put Vista on his PC after he gets it? If it does in fact have all of these spyware problems, will it cause any damage or problems?

mesean is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 07:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn

waste money on sp2?

i don't use xp all that much..but...when i have

start/windows sp2

[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!

CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 07:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306

that sounds fishy sp3 i thought microshaft was useing all its resources on vista i mean of course the pathces will come out but no large service packs.
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 08:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417

why does everyone want sp3 before its officially realeased? is it really THAT good that you cant wait?
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 08:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 21

Let me clarify that my friend just built a computer and had no OS.
Someone gave him a disk with a complete OS that says SP3. It's not that he want's it, he got it for free and that beats shelling out $150 for WinXPSp2 that he won't use anymore when Vista comes out anyway.
mesean is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 01:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 21

mesean is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 01:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 35

I never heard of this SP3??? is it a service pack for windows Vista or what.....

Anyway when you put Vista on his PC you will have to reformat right? So what does it matter?
Frank_Jaeger is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 01:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 21

SP3 is a service pack for Windows XP that is supposed to come out next year. My friend is only worried that it might cause some kind of damage.
mesean is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 02:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647

Well your friend has a right to worry. If it is the SP3 that i am thinking of, the one from, then that contains some spyware and stuff like that.

There is no "Official" SP3 out yet. They are just starting the Beta phases of it now. So your firend might not a fully legit XP.

As for the comments on Vista that isnt gonna happen either. Vista isnt gonna run on to much of todays hardware. He wil need to get a new Video Card that is DX10. Not like todays cards that are DX9.

Also they are talking about making DDR3 RAM. This will be highly used in Vista machines. This is still in talks as DDR3 RAM is still not finished yet. But since Vista inst due until next year they might have it ready in time.
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 04:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339

SP3 doesn't exist yet not the one from Microsoft yet considering SP3 will have features from Vista I find it difficult for SP3 to be completed.

<form action=\"\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.