Can I network with Win 2000 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2003, 03:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

I would go with the second nic in the XP box,, XP multi-homes quite nicely and the dhcp runs quite well,, you may even prefer to go static with so few PC,,

On the who can see what what?

on the win2k system, add the username of the username that you use on winxp. So if you use johndoe as a username for xp, add a username named johndoe to the win2k database. You don't have to do this for winxp for the win2k username.

Remember there is still authentication running here as this is a Psuedo network,,,

As for the Networking capabilities of the members of this forum,, I feel that the information is here,, BUT,, You , as a forum member must have SOME understanding of Network topology and connectivity...

My question would be,, what studying and research have you done to make the comment that this forum is not ready for Networking???

The whole concept of a Forum is to gather to gain Information, by your comment ,, you undermine the entire motivation for people to come here and post.. truly.. if you are not able to post to your pleasure here,, you are able to post elsewhere???

Be Nice ...
__________________

__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 11-13-2003, 04:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

how am i not being nice?
im just speaking what i think
if you disagree what i think, thats you
i was just saying from my experience and from what ive seen around here
theres not much people who are really knowledgeable in networking.

and about the 2 systems, yes they are both logged in as the same name
on the winxp i cant detect nothing
someoen once told me i had to log in through the xp to the win2000kpro but i had no clue what he was talking about and one of my friends have the same problem as me with networking win2k and xp
__________________

__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 12:55 AM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

rezurrectme please refrain from posting if you have no clue what you are talking about.

spfd i agree with what CrashAbbott is saying. win2k requires that user accounts be set up properly, i've had the same problem you had with win2k.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 05:11 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spfd
ive assigned em to the same group and only win2000k can access my xp computer not via.
any OS below 2000 (except NT) cannot read NTFS, so they will not be able to read from its hard drive
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 08:32 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
any OS below 2000 (except NT) cannot read NTFS, so they will not be able to read from its hard drive
hmmz yes they wil If you go to a drive via network it will work
say you take an win98 machine and you network to your 2k server
you acces the drives wich are ntfs you will be able to see and use them



and btw XP is able to use ntfs so that cant be the problem






hmmz did you setup an account on the 2k machine with the same username as the one on the XP machine if not try that and give it the correct rights



or if you don't care about security give everybody rights


(btw did you remember to share something on your 2k machine????)
Terrean is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 05:07 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

you don't have to worry about the filing system with the computers when talking in the context of networks. this is taken cared of automatically and not handled by the user.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 07:21 PM   #17 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Right...the information within the post concerning the file systems not being readable is not correct when we are discussing networks.
If you have the same user accounts setup and then are logged in as this account on the XP machine you still may not be able to see the other shares on the PC right away, but try this. Open up explorer on the XP machine and then input the UNC path of the share in the address bar.
Example: \\win2kpc\sharename
With "win2kpc" being replaced with whatever the Windows 2000 pc name is. Same goes for the sharename. If the user accounts are setup correctly, you should be able to connect this way. If you are logged in using a different account name or a same account name with a different password then a dialog box will appear and ask you to authenticate to the 2000 PC. I have been doing the same for over 1 1/2 years at my house.

cocoa: Any more problems with your setup?

I would love to see a Networking Topic here and would reply to posts in a topic like this daily. I have suggested it before as well.

-Michael
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 11-17-2003, 02:51 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Terrean
and btw XP is able to use ntfs so that cant be the problem
oh I must have misread, he's got one 2000 machine and 1 XP machine
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-17-2003, 02:52 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

this might sound stupid, but did you enable sharing on both computers?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-17-2003, 08:01 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 34
Default

thanks all for the replies, haven't actually had a chance to network as we first need to upgrade or buy new computers so I will be back to this post when that is completed!
__________________

cocoa is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.