Can I make a backup my current Windows XP? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2006, 02:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default Can I make a backup my current Windows XP?

My PC has two partitions: Drive C, and D.
Drive C is for Windows XP and is allocated with only 10GB.

I have 30GB space left in Drive D, and I want to make a copy of the all data in Drive C to Drive D, so that I can simply replace the data in Drive C from Drive D directly without the need to reinstall Windows XP in case some Windows system files were found to be damaged.

I have no ideas if I can really do a backup of my Drive C by using the method I've just mentioned above?

Please advise!
__________________

kwokwai is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 02:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default Re: Can I make a backup my current Windows XP?

please delete this reply, MOD!
__________________

kwokwai is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 04:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

mm.. I didn't really get what you said but this is what I think you were saying..

1. move data files from drive c: to d:
2. reinstall windows on drive c:
3. move back data from d:?

For backing up and restoring [moving and returning], you can use genie backup manager, you can get a free 15 day trial which is enough.
Sorry if I couldn't help as much but if you could explain it to me again or something
Willeh is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 06:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Willeh
mm.. I didn't really get what you said but this is what I think you were saying..

1. move data files from drive c: to d:
2. reinstall windows on drive c:
3. move back data from d:?

For backing up and restoring [moving and returning], you can use genie backup manager, you can get a free 15 day trial which is enough.
Sorry if I couldn't help as much but if you could explain it to me again or something
Yes, that's exactly what I meant!
kwokwai is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 06:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

oh right lol.. okay well for one you can download genie backup manager free trial, it's a 15 day trial so that should work, it contains various animated help files so you should have no problems with it.

I hope you should know how to reinstall windows, if not, then pop in your win xp cd, go into bios and set first boot device to be your CD / dvd rom or whatever ROM you've put the CD in, once in the windows xp setup, just follow the onscreen instructions, you may need to reformat and all that stuff.
Good luck
Willeh is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 11:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Willeh
oh right lol.. okay well for one you can download genie backup manager free trial, it's a 15 day trial so that should work, it contains various animated help files so you should have no problems with it.

I hope you should know how to reinstall windows, if not, then pop in your win xp cd, go into bios and set first boot device to be your CD / dvd rom or whatever ROM you've put the CD in, once in the windows xp setup, just follow the onscreen instructions, you may need to reformat and all that stuff.
Good luck
I have reinstalled my winXP now, and everything gets to work.
But the reinstallation task was not easy for me; so
I am thinking if I can copy the current healthy windows XP to another partition so that next time if the Windows XP really gets corrupted, I can simply copy that healthy windows back and replace the corrupted Windows XP to make everything works again.

Do you think if I can do it without pain?
kwokwai is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 11:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

Never tried that so can't really help there. I think there was an easier way for you to fix corrupt files by popping in your windows CD with all the windows files, going into run ---> cmd ---> sfc /scannow
The scan will scan all the system files to see if they're all working and whatnot, it's worked for me so whenever you have a corrupt file or something just try this scan out. Sorry but that method just came into my head lol=/
Willeh is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 11:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Willeh
...
The scan will scan all the system files to see if they're all working and whatnot, it's worked for me so whenever you have a corrupt file or something just try this scan out. Sorry but that method just came into my head lol=/
So what to do next if the Scan showed me there was a non-working file found.
How to replace this corrupted file from the windows CD?
kwokwai is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 12:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to killux
Default

This tool will make your work much easier.

http://www.runtime.org/dixml.htm

This program is equivalent to Norton Ghost.
__________________
Search Google Before You Post Anything
killux is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 12:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 66
Default

It sounds like what you want to do is make a image of your xp install not a backup. With a image you can just reload the image and off you go. With a backup you can restore files and folders and such but you can't just restore all of XP that way. There are several products out there but if you want my opinion it's not neccasary if you have the XP cd since you can reinstall from there anytime.
Now if you want to restore certain files that are corrupt there are several things you can do. First you can boot up using the XP cd and instead of installing you can use the "repair" option. But I wouldn't reccomend it. I have tried this many times and invariable windows becomes extremly unstable. The other 2 ways simply involve copying and pasting the files from the CD to your HD. You can either do this from withing the gui or when you bootup press F8 and choose the option to boot up to a command prompt and copy it from there
__________________

ElBurro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.