Can I install Vista with this disk. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2007, 05:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default Can I install Vista with this disk.

HI.

Okay here's the story: My Dad got a new PC, but it was really slow with vista. So he rang the computer company, and told them that he wanted XP. So they gave him the XP disk. He un-installed Vista, and got XP on his system. So then he had two disks, the XP one, And a "Vista pre-installation disk" so, I asked him if I could have the "Vista pre-installation disk" and he gave it to me. So I was just wonderin: could I install this on my comp, or will it just not work?

ThX.
__________________

computerlover is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 05:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Can I install Vista with this disk.

That depends? Is it a full disc or jsut a repair disc? Does it have all drivers for all systems or ones specifically for that system?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 05:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Can I install Vista with this disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
That depends? Is it a full disc or jsut a repair disc? Does it have all drivers for all systems or ones specifically for that system?
Alls i know is that it says on the disk: 'for system build, use only for preinstallation'

and it is called 'Windows vista OEM preinstallation disk'
computerlover is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 08:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Can I install Vista with this disk.

So to me its sounds like a disc for a specific system. Which means that it might not have all the drivers needed for your system. So you will want to have those handy. GFX, ethernet, modem, things like that.

Other than that i dont see why you cant. I used Dell XP discs on non-Dell PC's before.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 08:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Can I install Vista with this disk.

Hello,

I agree.

Also, there's a possibility that you may run into problems with drivers (where setup tries to install drivers for devices which are not present). Though to be honest, I'm not sure if this would actually be a problem.

Also note that you'll need the Vista product key from your Dad's PC.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 08:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default Re: Can I install Vista with this disk.

which i would say has been used and will not work on you PC
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 08:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Can I install Vista with this disk.

It says Part No XXXXXXXXXXXX on the disk so is that the product number?

Thx for the replies

EDIT: So what is the difference between preinstallation and normal instalation?
computerlover is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 08:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default Re: Can I install Vista with this disk.

The key might be ona sticker on the CASE of the other PC but the key wont work it wont register as its a different CPU+mobo
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 08:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Can I install Vista with this disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by snypercore View Post
The key might be ona sticker on the CASE of the other PC but the key wont work it wont register as its a different CPU+mobo
The Vista product key should work, so long as it is only being used on one machine at any one time.

And yes, you'll find the Vista product key on the Certificate Of Authenticity label which is usually stuck to the computer case of the original PC.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 10:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Can I install Vista with this disk.

The product key will work. It might come up with a error upon activation saying this key has already been used because of the fact it was already installed and activated once already. Just call M$ and tell them you had to format and re-install and they will help you reactivate.

Yes it worked on XP and it still works on Vista.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Help, cannot install windows vista pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 06-06-2007 12:38 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM
Vista install Xandrex New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-05-2007 04:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.