can i boot from old OS... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2005, 08:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 78
Default can i boot from old OS...

when i installed windows xp, i never uninstalled win98... is there anyway to boot from win98?
__________________

glennl is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 10:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

Windows xp formats then installs.
Unless you told it to do differently, then it will not boot.
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 05:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 158
Default

as Blitze105 said it formats the C: drive if you boot from CD after the BIOS. If you installed it by booting 98 and then upgrading then you will find you can. Unless. you remove XP (from add remove programs) and install a fresh copy but chaning the name of the windows of XP to windows1 or xp then when you boot you will have the option to dual boot. but dont format the drive as NTFS as 98 wont work.
__________________
I\'m not your Google Butler!
dexta182 is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 08:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 78
Default

okay thanks guys. i vaguely remember some warning message during the xp install about not removing the old OS first. and i *think* the first time i booted i had to select which OS from which to boot, but i was doing so much computer stuff at that time, my memory's kind of fuzzy.
glennl is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 09:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

I have a dual boot drive and it display's what os i want to boot from.

Quote:
okay thanks guys. i vaguely remember some warning message during the xp install about not removing the old OS first. and i *think* the first time i booted i had to select which OS from which to boot, but i was doing so much computer stuff at that time, my memory's kind of fuzzy.
I can chane my settings for the boot display in win XP, Don't know if it will work for you as i have two partitions. I guess it's worth a try though.

Go to Control Panel>System>Advanced Tab>and Click on the Settings Button under Start Up And Recovery.

You can then select your options from there, Hope this helps.

Drworm2005.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.