Cable modem security - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2002, 02:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 95
Default Cable modem security

I just got cable internet installed.

Is there any good (preferably free) software I can install to make it safer?? Do I need to install some sort of firewall?

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 127.jpg (93.7 KB, 0 views)
__________________

__________________
Welcome to Tech-Forums!
Webmaster-Talk.com Forums
FWT-Tim is offline  
Old 03-19-2002, 02:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 95
Default Cable modem security

I just got cable internet installed.

Is there any good (preferably free) software I can install to make it safer?? Do I need to install some sort of firewall?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Welcome to Tech-Forums!
Webmaster-Talk.com Forums
FWT-Tim is offline  
Old 03-19-2002, 05:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 81
Default

The best thing is a firewall m8! I have a few different ones running. Two good ones are ZA and Sygate. You can download the free ZA one here Zone Labs and you can download sygate which is better here Sygate download
Laterz
Attached Images
File Type: gif 128.gif (96.9 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Time Shocker!

TIME SHOCKERS FORUM
time shocker is offline  
Old 03-19-2002, 05:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 81
Default

The best thing is a firewall m8! I have a few different ones running. Two good ones are ZA and Sygate. You can download the free ZA one here Zone Labs and you can download sygate which is better here Sygate download
Laterz
__________________
Time Shocker!

TIME SHOCKERS FORUM
time shocker is offline  
Old 03-20-2002, 12:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Question Caution

Might want to find out which ones are compatable with your cable modem service. Some say that they will work with any service, but it's not true, unless there is someway to make them work that I wasn't told about.

I really liked Zone Alarm, but it would not work with my cable service. Even though it worked with others that I know of, it wouldn't work with Charter. The service tech even recommended I uninstall it. So, maybe there is a way, but it wasn't told to me.

Anyone else have problems with a firewall and cable? Or maybe chopper and time shocker know work around?
Dave is offline  
Old 03-20-2002, 12:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Question Caution

Might want to find out which ones are compatable with your cable modem service. Some say that they will work with any service, but it's not true, unless there is someway to make them work that I wasn't told about.

I really liked Zone Alarm, but it would not work with my cable service. Even though it worked with others that I know of, it wouldn't work with Charter. The service tech even recommended I uninstall it. So, maybe there is a way, but it wasn't told to me.

Anyone else have problems with a firewall and cable? Or maybe chopper and time shocker know work around?
Dave is offline  
Old 03-20-2002, 09:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 95
Default

I ended up installing the Sygate Firewall. Seems to be working pretty good so far.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 138.jpg (39.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 139.jpg (35.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 140.jpg (57.0 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Welcome to Tech-Forums!
Webmaster-Talk.com Forums
FWT-Tim is offline  
Old 03-20-2002, 09:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 95
Default

I ended up installing the Sygate Firewall. Seems to be working pretty good so far.
__________________
Welcome to Tech-Forums!
Webmaster-Talk.com Forums
FWT-Tim is offline  
Old 03-21-2002, 03:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 81
Default

Nice to know that is working for ya.
BTW- Norton is another good one m8!
Laterz
__________________
Time Shocker!

TIME SHOCKERS FORUM
time shocker is offline  
Old 03-21-2002, 03:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 81
Default

Nice to know that is working for ya.
BTW- Norton is another good one m8!
Laterz
__________________

__________________
Time Shocker!

TIME SHOCKERS FORUM
time shocker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.