Cable modem, 2 PCs on one modem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2003, 07:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Default Cable modem, 2 PCs on one modem

I don't know if this is the right place to ask but I have a Motorola Surfboard SB4100 cable modem on our main PC hooked up with the Ethernet cable. It also has a slot for a UBS cable, Can I hook up another computer on the UBS at the same time and have them both work without causing each other problems? Tom
__________________

__________________
Drag racer and snowmobiler trying to learn computers.
TomW is offline  
Old 11-13-2003, 07:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

Here is what it says about the modem on this page's FAQ guide...

Since the SB4200 has both Ethernet and USB connections, can I use both to attach multiple computers?

Yes. The USB port will support only one user and the Ethernet port (with a hub or switch) can support multiple users, to a maximum of 31 attached computers. Please check with your ISP or Cable Operator to see how many users they allow on cable modems.

Since the webpage FAQ http://www.gi.com/noflash/sb_faq.html
mentions both the SB4100 and SB4200, I assume that this applies to both.
__________________

__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 11-13-2003, 08:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Default

Thanks alot Bleep, Exactly what I wanted to know, I even downloaded the USB drivers to a floppy so I can put them on the other PC. COOOOOOOOOOOOL. Tom
__________________
Drag racer and snowmobiler trying to learn computers.
TomW is offline  
Old 11-13-2003, 08:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

Good deal
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 01:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i want to make a correction to what bleep said. you cannot connect multiple computers to share an internet connection with only a hub or switch. you must have a router in order to do that.

the modem connects to the WAN port on the router and the computers each connect to a device port. routers typically have a switch built into it with 4 ports for devices.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 06:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Ive also got an SB4100 modem
I want to connect to the Internet and network the laptop at the same time, and share the Internet with the Laptop, where did you download the drivers for USB?
I've got USB1, would that be fast enough for cable?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 09:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

The drivers TomW was refering to are located here http://www.gi.com/noflash/usb_drivers.asp

Routers are usually less than $100 now a days.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 10:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

The ISP will see 2 different IP address's without the Router to mask them...No Workie dude.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 06:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

USB 2.0 runs at 480MB/s right? and I've heard that it's 20 times faster than USB1.0, so this would mean USB1 runs at 24MB/s. so it would be fast enough
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 06:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

well when i tried connecting it got to 1MB/s and it didn't get to the internet, it still tries to get to the net through the ethernet card.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.