bypassing windows privileges - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2005, 09:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default bypassing windows privileges

I wanted to play some Age of Empires in class today and the computers wont let you have the privileges to install it! ahhh someone help, i just want to install this one program! Anyone know of a trick that may be able to get past this?

yes I know its wrong but its programming, anyone who has ever taken a programming class in high school knows you never do anything.
__________________

Thresh is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 04:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Might get in trouble for this one... ( sorry in advance )
Only way to get around this is by changing the name of the .exe
If it says "Setup" then change it to "test" Don't forget the extension.

you didn't hear this from me!
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 08:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

wow that was easy, thanks
Thresh is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 09:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

ugh, theres about 30 different setup .exe's. On top of that, the privilages wont let me change alot of the system file names. any ideas?
Thresh is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 12:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Although it wont get you to be able to install your game, this might help you get through your class:

From home download some flash games and put them on a CD, and play them at school using IE.

By the way, if you're gonna play games in class you better be doing your homework [stern finger wagging]
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.