buy winxp fullversion or upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2004, 03:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default buy winxp fullversion or upgrade?

i was wondering what would be better to buy winxp fullversion or the winxp upgrade and wut is the difference. I get alot of problems with my comp and would know which could i use just to reformat my comp.
__________________

warcraftunit is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 03:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

If you currently are using an OS by MS like Windows 2000, then feel free to buy the upgrade. But I would personally recommend the full version.

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 03:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Get the full version
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 07:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

i would never buy an upgrade, for one reason only, if u need to reformat, u have to install one os then the other, waste of time.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 07:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Default

yeah, full version
__________________
antec nine hundred
abit IP35 pro
Q6600 @ 3.3ghz
Evga 8800GTX
4GB Corsair XMS 800
150gb WD 10k
300gb seagate 7.2k
22" Samsung 5ms lcd
21" Sceptre lcd
cloud is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 08:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by delldude4100
i would never buy an upgrade, for one reason only, if u need to reformat, u have to install one os then the other, waste of time.
I must disagree with this, you can use an upgrade disk to install fresh but during install it will ask you for a CD from another OS that is eligable for the upgrade. This is just to make sure you are eligable for the upgrade.

Josh
__________________
<img src=\"http://dc.liquidninjas.com/dc/ln_dc_sigs.php?xfahuser=Josh18657&xfahteam=13285\" >
Josh18657 is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 08:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you can use the upgrade cd to wipe your hard drive clean and do a fresh install. and you will have a full version


the rational behind the upgrade cd was to make it cheaper for people who already had a computer, not to cut back on features
EricB is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 08:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Josh18657
I must disagree with this, you can use an upgrade disk to install fresh but during install it will ask you for a CD from another OS that is eligable for the upgrade. This is just to make sure you are eligable for the upgrade.

Josh
oh you beat me to it.
Quote:
Originally posted by Josh18657
but during install it will ask you for a CD from another OS that is eligable for the upgrade

Josh
if you boot from the cd, you will bypass this
EricB is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 08:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
oh you beat me to it.


if you boot from the cd, you will bypass this
Nice to know, I usually only use OEM versions of XP but i will definatly keep this in mind.

Josh
__________________
<img src=\"http://dc.liquidninjas.com/dc/ln_dc_sigs.php?xfahuser=Josh18657&xfahteam=13285\" >
Josh18657 is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 08:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

Full version: Clean install
Upgrade: Upgrade a current version to a newer one
__________________

Pavlyk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.