Burning a bootable cd..not an OS! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2003, 06:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 20
Default Burning a bootable cd..not an OS!

I Have Windows XP, nero Burning software, recordnowmax and
easy cd creator

I would like to make a bootable cd..however all the searches
i have found on the net require me to have a bootable disk
(which I do not have) or they require me to be burning an
operating system..(Which I am not).

i am burning a work cd which is bootable for a class that I am taking!...

can anyone give me any instructions as how to do that with nero?

thanks
__________________

95neongirl is offline  
Old 11-06-2003, 11:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

Skip the wizard and choose File, Burn Image, Select what you want made bootable and burn. Thats worked for me before with Nero. Good luck!
__________________

__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 11-06-2003, 07:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

are you really trying to make it bootable or do you want the CD to autorun when you put it in the cd drive? those are two different things. if you need autorun you want a program called ufautorun1_2
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-06-2003, 08:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 20
Default

I want it to autorun
95neongirl is offline  
Old 11-06-2003, 09:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

Then ditch what i said.
__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 11-07-2003, 02:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you'd need a file called autorun.ini on the CD, the OS is designed to find if it has this file, it then reads it's info to find what to open
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-07-2003, 01:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

thats fine if you want a EXE to run, but for a webpage to autorun you need the program i mentioned. using a webpage you can launch more than just web pages i think.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-07-2003, 03:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

Hi Ek,,

Both you and MB are correct,, they will both start with an HTML,,

cheers,
__________________

__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.