Built comp, OS error - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2005, 01:46 AM   #11 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

when you change the sticks, set your your bios to the fail safe defaults. it's looks like maybe your mobo isn't setting the ram timings correctly. are you getting the static out of your body (grounding yourself ) before you are messing with this?

run memtest86 from the cd. if your ram is ok, then maybe it's the mobo
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 11:16 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 83
Default

memtest86? could i run that without a OS?
__________________

__________________
Pentium 4 3.0 ghz
nvidia 7900gt 265mb video card
200gig HD
2 gigs of ddr (3200) ram
heifsin85 is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 11:31 AM   #13 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

yes you can. it is a cd.iso file. burn it as a disc image with nero alcohol or roxio
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 11:35 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 83
Default

ok, so i should save the osi file to my computer. download nero (which i presume is burning software), and burn it as a disk image?
__________________
Pentium 4 3.0 ghz
nvidia 7900gt 265mb video card
200gig HD
2 gigs of ddr (3200) ram
heifsin85 is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 11:44 AM   #15 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by heifsin85
ok, so i should save the osi file to my computer. download nero (which i presume is burning software), and burn it as a disk image?
Yes
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 01:21 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

you can also run memtest off of a floppy if you wanted to.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 01:46 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 83
Default

out of curiosity, if i have good memory, does that mean my ram is good and my mobo is fried? or woudl that mean that mobo and ram is ok?
__________________
Pentium 4 3.0 ghz
nvidia 7900gt 265mb video card
200gig HD
2 gigs of ddr (3200) ram
heifsin85 is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 02:00 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

well it could be a number of things....... But if your RAM comes back no errors, you ram is good. but it does not mean your mobo is bad.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.