Building new comp have ? about XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2004, 03:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 57
Default Building new comp have ? about XP

I hope this is the right section for this forum. Anyway I building a new comp. I have XP installed on my HD from my old comp and planning on switching it to the new comp. It's going to be different mobo and processor. Well anyway I was wondering after i get it built can install the hd with xp already on it and Xp will detect the new comp or do I have to clear my HD and install XP agian. All I have is a backup disk from the company that I got my old comp from. I dont want to buy xp again if you know what I mean. How can I do this without buying Xp again if there is a way. Any help on how I can install the HD with Xp already on it will be helpful. Thanks
__________________

__________________
P4 2.8 HT Prescott, DDR400 256mb Dual Channel, 120GB HD @7200 rpm, 80GB HD @7200rpm, 16X DVD, 4X DVDR, 480W PSU.
magnum70 is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

If you mean you have the backup cd, it is a safe bet that it has the full version of xp on it, thus after you get your new computer assembled, you just pop that in and do a clean stall of xp. Although it is most likely possible to put you old drive into your new computer, a clean install is the best way to do this, since you start fresh. Plus you get th os on a (hopefully) newer and faster drive.
__________________

digitaloracle is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 03:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 471
Default

well not necessarily. when i built my new computer, i tried using a DELL CD that had Windows 98 on it and it wouldn't let me because it wasn't a DELL machine. however, you can try copying the necessary files for windows to get installed and burn them on another CD making it bootable.
subdivizion is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 04:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Worth a shot anyway. I believe my Dell XP disc works in the manner I described.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 07:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 57
Default

I have an emachines back up disk. I dont know if that will work or if you know it will work. Is there a tread on wich programs I need to burn to a disk so I can make a copy of xp and where or if I need the activation number and where to get that? I hope to just my hd in and it will work without dooing a a fresh start. I rather wait and get the new version of xp or whatever they'll comeout with in these next months. I have 2 hd with xp on it so I can try both ways without worring if it will work or not. Any help on the programs to copy just in case would be helpful. Thanks!
__________________
P4 2.8 HT Prescott, DDR400 256mb Dual Channel, 120GB HD @7200 rpm, 80GB HD @7200rpm, 16X DVD, 4X DVDR, 480W PSU.
magnum70 is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 06:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

ive had the dell install discs work on non dell computers as it appears to b an actual xp disc with the dell name, hp was a completely different story, their 6 or 8 recovery discs r a joke, wouldnt even work when i still had the hp mobo in my computer then after i got the msi one i have now, ya rite its not an hp computer no install for me. really depends on the manufacturer but hp isnt user friendly imo. as for the xp'n in the same hard drive to a different computer if it does boot the first thing that will happen is xp will b like whoa different computer this could b a pirater here, we need to make him call microsoft and reactivate this copy of windows and it wont let u log in till u do. happened to me and i only switched out the mobo all other hardware and peripherals were the same. then about 2 hours later the whole windows install went to **** and i had reinstall everything neways im still working on the 100 or so progs i had installed not to mention the i think it was like 57 or so critical updates for windows. god what a joke 57 critical updates, not to mention the second service pack is about out. u would think that a company virtually monopolizing the OS industry could at least get it rite especially on like the 5 or 6th release of windows
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 08:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 133
Default

If you plan on changing the chipset of your motherboard without reloading XP you could have some serious problems.

Most Win XP installs blue screen when you change the chipset from one manufacturer to another, say Intel to SIS, or VIA. If you are upgrading the chipset with the same manufacturer you will probably be just fine. Just reload your chipset drivers.

If you are changing chipset manufacturers you might get away with reloading the OS over top of itself without a format/reload.
Blueman is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 02:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 57
Default

well I'll try the ways you mention with the backup disk. It's still going to be an Intel chip so that might work without reloading. I'll try it on my older 20gb HD first just in case so I dont messup my new one. I should have the rest of the stuff to complete it in about a week or two.
__________________

__________________
P4 2.8 HT Prescott, DDR400 256mb Dual Channel, 120GB HD @7200 rpm, 80GB HD @7200rpm, 16X DVD, 4X DVDR, 480W PSU.
magnum70 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.