BSOD - Multiple times! Getting very bad - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2005, 11:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12
Default BSOD - Multiple times! Getting very bad

I've gotten this BSOD about 5 times in the last week or so. I'm really getting worried and frustrated. The only thing I've changed on my computer recently, is I've upgraded my nVIDIA MX440 64mb PCI card to an ATI Radeon 9800pro 128mb AGP. I've run some of memtest86, and no errors were picked up. I will finish the entire test tonight (which test?) PLEASE HELP!!

__________________

stevo119 is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 11:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

That error was caused by your video card drivers.

Try updating them to the newest version. Ati Website
__________________

__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 12:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

I've gotten that screen many times too. Usually happens when I overclock and go too far, I get that. My question about that is when I get it, is it because I need to loosen RAM timings, or up RAM voltage?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 12:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12
Default

whoa i havent overclocked my card!! It should still be stock! But I'll try downloading some more drivers, even though I downloaded the newest ones already. Thanks
stevo119 is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 04:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Go here and download the patched version of ati2mtag.sys.

ati2mtag.sys

You can dowload just the patch or whole package.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 04:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12
Default

oh- what is the patched version? is that for overclocking?? I dont want to overclock or mess up my brand new $130 video card.
stevo119 is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 05:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

The 0x0000008E STOP error message is: KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED. I have no clue what the f**k that means...but it's nearly always related to hardware incompatibility.

Most probably the stated driver...your ATI Graphics Card driver.

Make sure that before you installed your new graphics card, you uninstalled your old graphics driver first. Try re-installing your graphics driver and look for any available catalyst updates online.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 11:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Did you solve the problem?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 03:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12
Default Re: Re:

Quote:
Originally posted by Alvin.C
Make sure that before you installed your new graphics card, you uninstalled your old graphics driver first. Try re-installing your graphics driver and look for any available catalyst updates online.
okay I did uninstall all the old video drivers, I updated every software and driver I could find on www.ati.com, and yes I updated the catalyst. SO FAR, its been fine and I havent had any BSODs. But I'll try gaming later on and see what I get. Thanks
stevo119 is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 04:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

That's a memory reference problem caused by your card

I think with that number it's in the first 640KB of system ram, which is reserved for special stuff like BIOS (Card or motherboard) shadowing and other stuff

Try getting that updated program, this could be hardware or software issues, as well as crappy motherboard issues.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.