BSoD....hmmm.. out of idea's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2008, 07:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Payne99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canada / B.C. / Prince George
Posts: 75
Default BSoD....hmmm.. out of idea's

Alright I'm just playing a game (lineage2) and then bam! BSoD!! and then I get some error where my OS was damaged in the process, and the Bsod says "PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA", now I've googled/searched here and most responses say it's an error with faulty hardware or failure of installed hardware (typically ram), now here's my main problem, when I try to get on now my computer gets to a screen saying:
"Setup is inspecting your computer's hardware configuration"
and it freezes their..... ok great.. and when I try to run in safe mode and I get to a screen where it says:
"Please select the operating system to start:
-Microsoft windows Xp Professional
-Microsoft windows Xp Professional Setup"
...now...picking any of these will still end with them freezing, safe mode or not safe mode.... I've ran it in Safe mode/w/ networking/command prompt etc.. and Ive ran debugging mode and its still all ends with them freezing.. When I try to reinstall/repair the OS I get to it copying, bam 100% and then i get that BsoD again.... I feel I'm out of choices and I may need a store tech's help. Any help would be appreciated.

~~current computer with the problem~~
-Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Quad Core
-Corsair HX520 CMPSU-520HX 520w
-Sunbeam Tuniq Tower 120
-EVGA Nforce 680I SLI LGA775 Conroe ATX DDR2
-Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-FI Xtreme Gamer
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2-6400 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-800 CL4-4-4-12 240PIN
-EVGA E-GEFORCE 8800GT Superclocked 650MHZ 512MB DDR3 PCI-E
-Microsoft Windows XP Professional OEM
-Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 3.5IN 500GB
-samsung dvd/cd burner
__________________

__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition 6 Core Processor 3.2GHZ
GPU: HD5970 1G 2GB DDR5 DP DUAL DVI PCI-E BLACK EDITION
RAM: Ripjaws X 8GB
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA2 7200RPM 4.2MS 32MB
Mobo: ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 DDR3 ATX AMD 890FX 4PCI-E16 2PCI CrossFireX 6
Payne99 is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 08:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: BSoD....hmmm.. out of idea's

Page fault is a RAM issue. Get MemTest86. Burn it to CD and run it for at least 4 hours.

Memtest86 - Download Page
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 12:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Payne99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canada / B.C. / Prince George
Posts: 75
Default Re: BSoD....hmmm.. out of idea's

alright thanks for that link Mak, I'll let it run for a good while, Ill post results back later.
__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition 6 Core Processor 3.2GHZ
GPU: HD5970 1G 2GB DDR5 DP DUAL DVI PCI-E BLACK EDITION
RAM: Ripjaws X 8GB
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA2 7200RPM 4.2MS 32MB
Mobo: ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 DDR3 ATX AMD 890FX 4PCI-E16 2PCI CrossFireX 6
Payne99 is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 12:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: BSoD....hmmm.. out of idea's

To add to Mak213's ram suggestion, a lot of time when ram goes bad it can cause bad data to be written to the harddrive. That could be what happened with your windows install. After you get the issue resolved you can do a repair install of windows to fix it most likely and you wont loose any data.
networkgeek is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 12:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: BSoD....hmmm.. out of idea's

Payne no problem on the link. I have it bookmarked for such reasons.

Network is right. But if it turns out to be the RAM most times you can just replace it as well and solve the issues without a repair install. There have been a few cases where a reinstall was needed. But minor numbers.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 03:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Payne99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canada / B.C. / Prince George
Posts: 75
Default Re: BSoD....hmmm.. out of idea's

Well 3passes so far (3hrs30min) and 0 "Errors" found. I'm not sure how much longer I should leave it running, Ill try a bit longer though out of curiosity.
__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition 6 Core Processor 3.2GHZ
GPU: HD5970 1G 2GB DDR5 DP DUAL DVI PCI-E BLACK EDITION
RAM: Ripjaws X 8GB
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA2 7200RPM 4.2MS 32MB
Mobo: ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 DDR3 ATX AMD 890FX 4PCI-E16 2PCI CrossFireX 6
Payne99 is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 04:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: BSoD....hmmm.. out of idea's

It could be a driver related issue. Have you gotten all drivers up to date including chipset drivers?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 11:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Payne99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canada / B.C. / Prince George
Posts: 75
Default Re: BSoD....hmmm.. out of idea's

Alright just got back, its on 10cycles no errors so I think it's safe to say that the ram isn't the problem, as for the drivers Mak, the computer was bre-built and drivers were installed by somebody else I had no word in the matter, wish I did now though (computer in my sig. is all done myself). I cant really say if it were a specific driver as I cant get on to check my log. Any other idea's on how I can get my OS to work again? thanks so far, been really helpful, I've been able to hold off bringing it into the shop so far for repairs! hehe
__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition 6 Core Processor 3.2GHZ
GPU: HD5970 1G 2GB DDR5 DP DUAL DVI PCI-E BLACK EDITION
RAM: Ripjaws X 8GB
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA2 7200RPM 4.2MS 32MB
Mobo: ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 DDR3 ATX AMD 890FX 4PCI-E16 2PCI CrossFireX 6
Payne99 is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 11:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: BSoD....hmmm.. out of idea's

Since it is XP try a repair install.

How to Perform a Windows XP Repair Install
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD on Boot aeroplane22 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 05-18-2008 10:23 PM
Possible Hardware Issue? (w/ BSOD) mendriel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-05-2008 02:42 PM
BSOD on vista boot ZeroShade Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-21-2008 04:10 AM
World’s Largest BSOD Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 11-09-2007 05:55 PM
BSOD problem dkim1985 Microsoft Windows and Software 50 08-19-2007 05:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.