BSOD Help!! 0x0000008E - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2005, 03:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 90
Default BSOD Help!! 0x0000008E

Hi everyone. I seem to be having a bit of a problem at the moment. My computer seems to randomly restart I have disabled automatic restart on failure and the BSOD tells me this

***Stop*** 0x0000008e (0xC0000005, 0x8054A832, 0xBAB8C3C, 0x00000000) or the same at the start with 0x00000066, 0xF593CC58 in brackets. I have tried changing Memory around and running with only one stick in any of my available slots and my temps seems to be ok. I have tried disabling RAM cache and shadowing to no avail. Can anyone please help. I also ran Memtest and it didnt report any problems.

Also ran virus scans and came up with nothing Microsoft say they have fix for this error and it comes with SP2 but i have that and it doesnt seem to fix the problem.

I thought the problem might be Microsoft office as a few hours after i installed it the problems started but i have now uninstalled it and its still happening. Thanks
__________________

__________________
Gigabyte GA-7vm400m
Via VT8235 Chipset
AMD Athlon XP2400+ Cpu
1024 Mb DDR400 RAM
160gb Maxtor H/D
Nvidia GeForce 6600 GT Video Card
Win Xp Pro
cerberus98 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 03:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

which version of office, and have you installed all the latest patches for office?
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 03:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 90
Default

i installed office 2003 and i was starting to install the patches and it restarted on me.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-7vm400m
Via VT8235 Chipset
AMD Athlon XP2400+ Cpu
1024 Mb DDR400 RAM
160gb Maxtor H/D
Nvidia GeForce 6600 GT Video Card
Win Xp Pro
cerberus98 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 03:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

hmmm, that is intersting...
can you check the event log to see if there are any error messages about your hard drive or anything?
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 04:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 90
Default

the only entries in the event log are service control manage entries and a few errors here are what the errors look like

System error catergory(102) Event ID1003 and the description is as follows

Error code 1000008e, parameter1 c0000005, parameter2 00000066, parameter3 f593cc58, parameter4 00000000. or close to that each one has a different set of numbers in the parameter 3 area
__________________
Gigabyte GA-7vm400m
Via VT8235 Chipset
AMD Athlon XP2400+ Cpu
1024 Mb DDR400 RAM
160gb Maxtor H/D
Nvidia GeForce 6600 GT Video Card
Win Xp Pro
cerberus98 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 04:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 90
Default

Event Type: Error
Event Source: System Error
Event Category: (102)
Event ID: 1003
Date: 10/6/2005
Time: 5:44:37 PM
User: N/A
Computer: ASMARA
Description:
Error code 1000008e, parameter1 c0000005, parameter2 00000066, parameter3 f593cc58, parameter4 00000000.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
Data:
0000: 53 79 73 74 65 6d 20 45 System E
0008: 72 72 6f 72 20 20 45 72 rror Er
0010: 72 6f 72 20 63 6f 64 65 ror code
0018: 20 31 30 30 30 30 30 38 1000008
0020: 65 20 20 50 61 72 61 6d e Param
0028: 65 74 65 72 73 20 63 30 eters c0
0030: 30 30 30 30 30 35 2c 20 000005,
0038: 30 30 30 30 30 30 36 36 00000066
0040: 2c 20 66 35 39 33 63 63 , f593cc
0048: 35 38 2c 20 30 30 30 30 58, 0000
0050: 30 30 30 30 0000
__________________
Gigabyte GA-7vm400m
Via VT8235 Chipset
AMD Athlon XP2400+ Cpu
1024 Mb DDR400 RAM
160gb Maxtor H/D
Nvidia GeForce 6600 GT Video Card
Win Xp Pro
cerberus98 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 04:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 90
Default

Inaris
thanks for your interest in my problem so far. I have to go to work right now but if you have any suggestions on what the problem is or any solutions that you can think of could you just leave me a list and ill try them tomorrow

Thanks again
__________________
Gigabyte GA-7vm400m
Via VT8235 Chipset
AMD Athlon XP2400+ Cpu
1024 Mb DDR400 RAM
160gb Maxtor H/D
Nvidia GeForce 6600 GT Video Card
Win Xp Pro
cerberus98 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 05:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

try this...

Uninstall Office 2003. Then make sure you have removed all temp files in %systemroot%\temp and %temp%

Then check your free disk space, and your memory. Make sure you have at least 512 mb ram, and 2 gbs free of disk space. Then run defrag, and do a checkdisk. Might take a little while, but it's worth it. Then do an administrative install of office 2003 to %systemroot%\applications\office11. Then do an administrative install of the servicepack for 2003 to the same location. That way, the files that need to be replaced are done so before the application actually installs. Then install the program from the location you just unpacked them to. That way, we can look at it a little be more clearly.

Good luck...

ps, to do an administrative install, you open a cmd window and type the following:
(given the path to the cd is D:\ and that the files are in the top level folder)

cd d:\
msiexec.exe /a pro.msi /qb!


That will open an installer prompt that will ask you for the location you wish to use and the serial number. Then when that's done, you will need to do that same for the Service pack. The service pack will come in a .exe You need to unpack that and then apply the .msp to the admin package you just ran. When unpacked, you will have several .msp files. The one you want is mainsp1ff.msp. For you, all you need to do is point the msp to the msi located at %systemroot%\applications\office11 (given that you used the path I gave you) and then let it do it's thing. It's a patch program that will unpack and apply to the msi.

let me know...
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 07:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 90
Default

Morning (well morning over here) i defraged and did a checkdisk and no errors found and the drive wasnt very fragged. Do you think maybe using system restore to go back a couple of days could fix the problem?

PS
when i googled the error message most sites say it is a memory allocation fault. I have also noticed it happens more so when im closing programs that require internet access ie internet explorer or anything that likes to update
__________________
Gigabyte GA-7vm400m
Via VT8235 Chipset
AMD Athlon XP2400+ Cpu
1024 Mb DDR400 RAM
160gb Maxtor H/D
Nvidia GeForce 6600 GT Video Card
Win Xp Pro
cerberus98 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 08:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

have you tried the uninstall thing yet?
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.