Browse...Look in problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2008, 05:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Browse...Look in problem

Well sometime in the last 24 hours whenever I click the "Look In" part when hitting browse, whether it be with "Run" or opening a file with a program the drop down menu only stays down for a split second and I don't have time to pick a folder or anything. Anyone know how to fix this is very annoying.
__________________

__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 08:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Browse...Look in problem

I dont get what you are trying to say. Look in? Run? Browse? You are gonna haev to either put up screen shots or be more clear on what is going on.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 08:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: Browse...Look in problem

How do I take screenshots on my desktop and how would i post it on here? But anyways Run I mean like, Click Start Button, go to Run, then Browse to find what you want to run the little drop down menu up top that says Look In: to the left of it, it won't stay open
__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 09:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Browse...Look in problem

dl irfanview...install...
whatever you want to take a screen of hit "prt scrn" key...open irfanview...ctr+v....marquee crop if you want, ie., drag area with mouse...ctr+y

save as jpg...compress to about 30% or so...
upload to a site like imageshack

if you have vista you can take screen snags
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 09:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: Browse...Look in problem

The first one shows it closed.

The second one shows it open, was hard to get a screenshot of it open tho since it only stays open for an instant. But this happsns in Run and when opening a file from any program.
__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 12:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Browse...Look in problem

Have you clicked and held the mouse?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 01:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Browse...Look in problem

might be an app you have installed that is doing that
what else is loading up or in your tray? Don't have to tell us, but maybe you can answer/solve yourself just by scrutinizing your system
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 05:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: Browse...Look in problem

nah I'm not holding the mouse and I had installed a few things including some Microsoft Powertoys, but after that happened and I went and uninstalled everything I had installed recently and then some. I've even tried shutting down almost every non critical process and it still does it.
__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 12:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: Browse...Look in problem

Ok no new info on this I see, well I have a few questions also.

What is that you type in the Run window to scan windows files and fix them if they are corrupted or modified.

And if I run a Repair Install do I have to put the key in again and what exactly does Repair Install do.
__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 12:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: Browse...Look in problem

Lol I think I figured out what was causing it to close so quickly, and I find it odd that this has anything to do with it but I believe its Core Temp, I guess I'll just close the program whenever I need to open something, cause i like using it unless there's a better CPU Core Temp program, i was going to leave a bug report on their website but for some reason it says my email address is banned, strange I've never even been on this forum let alone banned from anything to my knowledge lol
__________________

__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with 3D graphics mordi05 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 12-10-2007 11:37 PM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Media Library (I Presume) Problem. Nadegas Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-08-2007 08:27 AM
Software installation problem..... -RockMan- Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-30-2007 04:10 AM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.