Browers won't connect to internet, funny settings? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2005, 11:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Unhappy Browers won't connect to internet, funny settings?

Hey I'm new here. Really love computers (kind of a computer-nerd heh)...but I have this problem...which is probably minor...but I can't seem to figure out exactly whats wrong. But heres the scope:

My brother/sister came home for the holidays....and people started messing around with my parents computer...and I have a feeling someone set something wrong in the control panel. And now none of the browsers (internet explorer, firefox) will connect. The firefox says "can't connect to server" and the internet explorer just has the no display page. But there is a connection (I already checked that out). From the looks of things it looks like something is either a) blocking the connection or b) some option is set funny.

So I disabled the firewall they had up...and uninstalled the virus, spyware programs...and that still didn't fix the problem. I don't know what it could be. I even tried reinstalling firefox. And nothing. Maybe something is set wrong in the internet options section? I don't know. Any suggestions? My parents are all up in my face about trying to fix it (and I'm not the best at this particular type of thing...but compared to them I'm a computer God hah). Its running windows XP with 512 of ram. Any help would be great! thanks!


Kristin
__________________

Roseswirl is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 11:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

login as a new user and see if you can connect. can you ping www.yahoo.com ? and do you get a reply?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 12:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Check for a proxy setting in the config of the browsers. Found this lastnight on my brother inlaws MAC. Didn't make sence, but it was there...
Inaris is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 07:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Peterborough, Ont.
Posts: 404
Default

You can use you system restore option, if it is only settings that got messed up.
yosa is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 11:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

unplug modems and computers for 5 minutes. turn on modem then computer
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 11:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I dont think she is coming back..
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.