BOSD: Unmounted Boot VOlume - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2005, 12:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Exclamation BOSD: Unmounted Boot VOlume

Ok i was in q4max and got an error had to reboot machine when i noticed this BSOD for the first time upon windows load was working perfectly fine before. "Unmountable boot volume" ive popped in windows xp professional disk and run Repair I'm running 2 Sata barracudas raid 0 . Ive done this at least 3-4 times chkdsk /R it did say there were two or more errors the first time and it fixed them. Ive run fixboot , chkdsk /p .... Nothing is working. Cant go into safe mode anything

One thing i did noticed when the xp pro cd was in the loading drivers part right before it prompts you for the R for repair and format. It said unexpected error(32769) line 5137 D:\xpclient\base\setup\setup.c. im thinking this might have an affect also ??


please someone help i have important things to do on my pc and dont want to reformat
__________________

Vapor is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 12:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

reformat. your files are too corrupted
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 01:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

if you have a spare hdd laying around, you set that hdd up as a slave and drag them off
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 01:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Default

anyway i can do a repair install, or install with leaving files intact? will that keep all my files intact like pictures and games?
Vapor is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 01:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

if you do a repair, all your files will be there, it just replaces the system files but not your files so you will be fine if you can do a repair
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 02:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Default

i dont have a spare hdd around, i really want to repair install but theres no option on my win xp pro cd
Vapor is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 02:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

is this what you did?

Boot the computer using the XP CD. You may need to change the boot order in the system BIOS so the CD boots before the hard drive. Check your system documentation for steps to access the BIOS and change the boot order.
When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see the options below
This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft
Windows XP to run on your computer:

To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.

To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.

To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.

Press Enter to start the Windows Setup. do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R", (you Do Not want to load Recovery Console). I repeat, do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R".
Accept the License Agreement and Windows will search for existing Windows installations.
Select the XP installation you want to repair from the list and press R to start the repair. If Repair is not one of the options, read this Warning#2!
Setup will copy the necessary files to the hard drive and reboot. Do not press any key to boot from CD when the message appears. Setup will continue as if it were doing a clean install, but your applications and settings will remain intact.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 01:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Default

ok you confused me , Repair install isnt a option for me.... So what exactly do i do?
__________________

Vapor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.