bootlegged software - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2006, 01:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
KL
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Default bootlegged software

will a bootlegged copy of Microsoft Ofiice 2003 conflict with windows service pack 2???
__________________

KL is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

I hope the title was just an attention graber... cause it doesn't have anything to do with you're question as written...

I'd say... no
__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 02:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I would say no too
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 02:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
KL
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Default

really, I installed pirated office 2003 on friends pc which contains service pack 2 and now her pc turns on with a blank screen. Wht do you think is the problem, what should I do about it
KL is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 02:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

Pirated software isn't to be discussed on tech-forums...

I'd say driver issues or something...

one of the situations in which I would just (back everything up) reinstall windows, and office then start over...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 03:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
KL
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Default

are you saying that office conflicted with drivers??? should I scrap office all together?
KL is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 03:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

no... I was a bit vague...

you may have a bad copy... or the pc might have already had something wrong,.. such as a virus or spam... which could have interfered with the install and caused the problems afterwords...

my suggestion would be to simply reinstall windows... or to make things even easier... just do a repair...

EDIT:

http://www.openoffice.org/

try this... it's as good or better than M$ office
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 03:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
KL
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Default

thank you
I apprecaite your help

It's very interesting though because the way that she describes the problem is that the she turned the computer on and the screen went white - no windows nothing. wierd huh?
KL is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 03:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

did the monitor come unplugged?
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 03:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
KL
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Default

no
__________________

KL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.