Booting up - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2004, 08:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

I just found this

http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000465.htm

in my experience it is a combination of 1, 6 and 8 (6 just did it sometime though)

rebooting and deleting the partition in question, then creating new one and reinstalling XP or 2000 has alway fixed the problem for me
__________________

vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-20-2004, 11:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 86
Default

Vance, I like your explanations. You're right about the 2000 install being cut short. The 98 should have been untouched. Which is why I wonder why I can't boot into it.

Okay, when the computer boots up, you say the NT partition is taking precedence. How do I make win 98 take presedence?

How does the computer know which partition to look at first? Isn't there a file with some boot loader instructions that I can edit?

Maybe the boot instructions should be on there own partition.
__________________

Echo Kilo is offline  
Old 10-20-2004, 11:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

if you have 2 partition magic rescue floppy disc, you could do it

but try to reinstall 2000, it will be there then
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 03:54 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 86
Default

What is a....

<vance clip> " 2 partition magic rescue floppy disc" ?
Echo Kilo is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 04:04 AM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

it you had partition magic

you could make floppys that could control partitions in dos
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 04:48 AM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default Re: Booting up

Quote:
Originally posted by Echo Kilo
How can I have it see my Windows 98 partition and boot into it!
I believe the reason why you are seeing the NTLDR error is because your boot configuration was changed due to your incomplete win2000 installation. To restore these setting use a win98 or winME startup diskette (download from bootdisk.com) to boot your computer. When you get to the dos A:\ prompt type

copy c:\boot.ini a:

assuming win98 was installed on drive c:, that command copies a hidden file boot.ini to your floppy disk on drive A: Please attach that file to here or copy and paste the contents here. it should look something like this



[boot loader]
timeout=5
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partitions(1)\WINDOWS="Micr osoft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 08:33 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 86
Default

I do have partition magic.
Echo Kilo is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 03:44 AM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

make 2 rescue disc boot from them

then delete the 2000 or set the 98 to active

I still would delete the 2000 one

I'm sure ekÆsine idea will work too. I not that well verse in dos
__________________

vance43211 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.