Booting M W/ Partitioned HD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2006, 10:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default Booting M$Windows W/ Partitioned HD

I have a 20 gb IBM hd and a 250 gb Western Digital hd and i have windows installed on both of them the problem is that the WD Hard drive is partitioned into 3 different partitions (windows is on one) and i cant get the computer won't regonize the seperated drives during the time when i open the settings manager before actually loading M$ Windows. Could somebody plz help i'm extremely frusterated. thanks in advance
__________________

NopeNopeNope is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 11:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

what are you asking?
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 11:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
what are you asking?
sorry i have a problem making myself clear sometimes... how do i get windows to boot from a certain partition from my Western Digital disk..
NopeNopeNope is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 11:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

try setting your bios to boot from the other hdd
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 11:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
try setting your bios to boot from the other hdd

its not that simple... it recognizes the hd but not the partitions on it.
NopeNopeNope is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 08:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to topherus
Default

Learning all about partitions myself. Your partition is probably hidden so it isn't recognized at boot up. The only way I know how to unhide a partition easily is with Powerquest Partition Magic (now owned by Norton). It's a program that creates, converts, resizes and allows you to view all partitions. You can easily make your boot partition visible and active. It works for me. Good luck.
topherus is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 06:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default

thanx
NopeNopeNope is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 06:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

off-topic:

you must like Trotter...having his name as your username.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.