Booting incident - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2006, 04:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default Booting incident

Now, whenever i boot up windows; I get a choice between whether i should boot up with windows xp home, or windows xp home (no thats not a typo) the default is the second winxp home, so i go w/ that. This doesn't really negatively affect me, but its annoying and worrying.

what i have done to incure this:

I installed a second SATA HDD; and using some western digital software; i transfered the contents of my origional HDD to my second, newer, larger HDD. Then, I switched the SATA cables around.

I installed Ubuntu linux on the second HDD, which included a format. However, (ive done the linux install twice) whenever i do that, GRUB (the multiple OS loader whatchamacallit) shows up (as expected) but i get erros if i pick linux or windows. so i go into recovery console (on the windows xp cd) and type

fixboot
and
fixmbr

and that fixes my problem ; leaving me with the initial "problem" outlined at this post's beginning.

Thank you for any help; i hope this doesn't belong in the 'nix section instead.
__________________

nigy is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 06:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

Run msconfig, and go to the boot ini tab. and click the check all boot paths, and it will ask you to remove the dead boot path.
__________________

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 06:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default

nothing happens when i run msconfig. this is weird; ive done it before.
nigy is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 03:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

try booting into safemode and running msconfig in safemode. or you can edit the boot.ini by start > right click my computer > properties > advanced tab > startup and recovery > and edit to adjust the boot.ini
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.