Booting and DirectX Problem!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2006, 10:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Jax
Junior Techie
 
Jax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to Jax
Exclamation Booting and DirectX Problem!!!

I got following two problems which seriously troublems me a lot :-

Firstly,I have to shake d power supply or HDD,with stick, to make my PC boot up.Please tell me why is it so n how to solve it!

Second problem is that I'm unable to play any game in my machine.So i check d DirectX files.On viewing d details,i got this message,"The file qasf.dll is an old version, which could cause problems.
You should reinstall DirectX to get the latest version".
So i install 9.0c version n my PC shows that it installs fine.After restart d version still remains as 9.0b!
Please tell me how to uninstall DirectX so that i update it?

My PC configration is :
AMD 2000+
ASUS mobo
20 GB HDD
256 RAM
Win XP Pro+SP2

THANKS A LOT FOR UR REPLIES!!!
__________________

Jax is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 12:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
TechyBurst
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: yucca valley, California
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to Dr.Gootch Send a message via MSN to Dr.Gootch
Default

WTF? uh well... prolly got a bad powersupply, or there is a loose connection somewhere. Wut games r u trying to play? i see u got 256mb ram that is very low to play any game. your hard drive is small, and what is ur video card?
__________________

__________________
Rebuilding in progress... Pending Specs....

Yours Truly,
Dr.Gootch
Dr.Gootch is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 12:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

PS for sure.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 08:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Jax
Junior Techie
 
Jax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to Jax
Default

Quote:
prolly got a bad powersupply, or there is a loose connection somewhere.
I have 'INTEX ATX-300W' power supply.Is this enough for d spec i describe here?Also i clean my PC to remove dust n fix tight connections but nothing works
Quote:
Wut games r u trying to play?
I only play casual games like NFS UG2,MAFIA,SOCCER 2005 .These games requirements meets my PC configration...but still i'm not able to play them
Quote:
what is ur video card?
I only have Onboard Display of 32 bits...but enough to play the games i listed above

@Warez Monster
What does it means,"PS for sure"???Please tell me briefly!

Also tell me how to fix the DirectX problem?

THX FOR UE PATIENCE
Jax is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 08:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

PS = Power Supply

Got a spare one?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 09:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Jax
Junior Techie
 
Jax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to Jax
Default

I did not have spare PS.
But I thought that the problem is in HDD because whn i press POWER button,my PC starts but did not boot-up
So I think PS is in good condition
POST MORE REPLIES HERE TO HELP ME!
Jax is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 09:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

well if you need to shake your ps and hdd to make it boot, its probably one of the 2
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 06:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Jax
Junior Techie
 
Jax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to Jax
Default

Yeah this is wht i'm saying that d problem is in HDD or in PS :amazed:

Also tell me d solution of my DirectX problem...PLEASE tell me how do i un-install d DirectX so that i can re-install it???
Jax is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 07:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Sounds like something is screwed with your OS..I would try running a repair then re-install SP2 if it is not slipped stramed into your CD..then re-install all security updates..then re-install direct X 9.0c.

Sounds like your power supply to me as well. More so it sounds like a connection from the power button to the mobo. Have you looked in there to see if the wire that goes from the power button to the mobo is nice and secure? Just reseat all your power related connections and see if that helps. I would try a new power supply before a new HDD since its cheaper and easier to replace.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 07:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://majorgeeks.com/DirectX_9_Uninstaller_d2935.html
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.