Booted up no desktop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2004, 06:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 87
Default Booted up no desktop

I booted up this morning, No desktop..................
Everything was fine yesterday, although seemed to be running a little slower then usual.
Anyone have any ideas?
Thanks, DSH
__________________

dandivine is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 11:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Please provide details on what you mean. No Desktop is rather bland.
Does the machine give an error? Is it powered on? did a meteor stike your house and incinerate the desktop upon which sat you computer?
without details, were blind...

Thanks
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 04:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155
Default

Sometimes, computers get some "kinks." Sometimes when you restart your computer, the "kink" will be gone. Did you try to reboot? I can't really think of anything else because like Inaris said, we need more details.
wannabe_hacker is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 04:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 87
Default

Thanks guys, I gave up and just reformatted and reloaded all the software. Must have been a virus or something.
DSH
dandivine is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 04:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155
Default

Ok, well, I'm glad everything worked out for you! That was kind of a big leap to format, but hey, if you're happy and it works for you, then congratulations on a job well done!
wannabe_hacker is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 08:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to tyledogg Send a message via Yahoo to tyledogg
Default

you formatted your harddrive for nothing!

All you had to do was hit CTRL-SHIFT-ESC, go to file, then "New Task (run)" then browse to your "windows folder" and open up "explorer.exe". There is another way but i have forgotten where it is located in the registry. This way is a gr8 prank as well to play on your friends. You can use it to, turn their computer into a word processor! lol PM me for more information.
__________________

__________________
Signature
tyledogg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.